Reader reviews and comments on Jim The Boy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Jim The Boy

By Tony Earley

Jim The Boy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jun 2000,
    240 pages.
    Paperback: Apr 2001,
    256 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for Jim The Boy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

katelyn_jay (08/19/11)

not my favorite..
I had to read this book for ninth grade, going into honors English. I didn't think it was horrible, but there was no point to it. It shows a ten year old boy, who lost his father before he was born, going to school, making a friend, and growing up. The book was very slow, and sometimes didn't even make much sense. I expecting a lot more, and was disappointed.
Elli (09/12/10)

Beautiful Writing, Weak Plot
While the book had some beautiful descriptions and writing, there was absolutely no strong plot. The book was just a boring story about a boy that lives in a small town. He turns 10, he goes to school, he tries to help on his family's farm, and that's about it. There's no real point to the story. If only the amazing writing could have been applied to a much stronger plot with an actual meaning to the story.
V_Volcanoo. (09/08/10)

Jim the Boy
Well, what can I say? I thought it was very weak and really no sense. Very slow pace. Just awful. Also a lot of things didn't really make sense whatsoever.
Unkown (05/08/07)

Decent Book
I found this book to be a good choice for myself. For school I have been reading many of the classics and this fit in perfectly with all the other books. It was a great find and I recommend this book to anyone out there looking for another classic book.
lelsly (09/07/06)

it was ok....
we had to read this book over the summer for ninth grade honors english. i really wasn't that impressed with it. it was weak in that the charecters were under developed and the story was too fast and had next to no depth. there were no little supprising twists, no suspense, no anything that would make this anything other than a book i might recammend to a 3-4 grader. all in all, it was what expected it to be.
Brandy Adams (12/09/04)

A great book. Really felt like I was there. Excited to hear places I knew.
Jon (12/06/04)

This books aight
Norm (03/09/04)

"Jim The Boy" is one of those books that you are glad you've read. Growing up poor, but not knowing it then, I can relate somewhat to what Jim went through. Mr Earley does a fantastic job drawing the pictures in one's mind, making one recollect the many similar experiences and feelings I had while growing up.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  132Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.