Reader reviews and comments on Amy Falls Down, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Amy Falls Down

By Jincy Willett

Amy Falls Down
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jul 2013,
    336 pages.
    Paperback: Jul 2014,
    336 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Amy Falls Down
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Angela J. (Highlands Ranch, CO) (07/31/13)

Amy Falls Down
Amy Falls Down (or as I call it, Amy Falls Flat). It was slow going at first, but then the story did pick up a little. It was humorous in parts, but I felt the author was trying too hard to entertain the reader. It seemed a little too superficial, without ever getting to know the "real" Amy.
Maggie P. (Mount Airy, MD) (07/29/13)

Amy Falls Down
It all starts with a fall and then maybe a concussion, the problem is, Amy can't remember. As Amy finds new found celebrity, we follow here as she tries to get her writing career back on track. A quick, easy, mindless read.
Sherrill B. (Columbia City, IN) (07/19/13)

amy falls
Now I know what writers go through. They are like the rest of us as far as everyday living, and things that happen accidentally and otherwise. I felt like I was reading someone's diary. There really wasn't any plot, but maybe there wasn't suppose to be. It was funny, and a good book to just sit down and read for fun.
Patricia S. (Yankton, SD) (07/13/13)

Amy Rises Again
I first met Amy Gallup and her creator Jincy Willet a few years ago when I read Winner of the National Book Award. What a delight to encounter her again in Amy Falls Down. And what a delight this book is. It is hard to classify. It is literate, quirky, laugh out loud funny, and at the same time poignant. It is also just the inspiration I needed to get out my notebooks and develop some of my collected ideas in to stories again.
Nancy C. (Overland Park, (07/12/13)

Amy Falls Down written by Juncy Willett
Amy Gallup has spent the last twenty-or-so years remembering her past and its joys and triumphs, teaching online writing classes, and writing in her notebook and her online blog. But things are about to change: she falls in her back yard, hits her head, and comes home from the emergency room thinking that everything is normal, including a huge headache. The next thing she remembers is waving goodbye to a departing reporter. When the interview is published she does not rememeber saying any of the things published in the interview. That is only the beginning of Amy's journey back to interaction with others. Jincy Willett has written a delightful book with insights into not only Amy Gallup but into the psyches of her readers. A book which can be highly recommended.
Beth T. (Savannah, GA) (07/09/13)

I Love Amy!
What a fun, fun book. It's quirky, and difficult to describe in a way that conveys just what a delight it is -- but if you love books, and reading, and writing, and struggling writers, and dogs, and women, and unpredictable changes, and -- oh hell -- just read it! You will be glad you did! Now I can't wait to read the rest of Jincy Willett's collection.
Shirley D. (Amherst, MA) (07/09/13)

AMY FALLS DOWN
I wish Amy lived nearby! and regret she is fictional. We could have great times. I had to keep turning pages as quickly as I could - I really wanted to know what she did next. The writing was exceptional and the humor dry and delightful. A reader would do well to have a real space of time to read before even meeting Amy!
Brenda S. (Apple Valley, MN) (07/08/13)

Lovely Surprise Journey
Getting older has its challenges and unforeseen mishaps can certainly bring unique opportunities to test one's abilities and patience. Thank goodness, Jincy Willett created a wonderful, insightful, humorous, and straightforward description of some of the joys of adding years to our lives and learning that others' opinions are not as important as we once thought. Yes, we do not want to be rude; however, we don't need people steering us in directions we may not want to go.

I thoroughly enjoyed the style of the writing and the rhythm of the story...if not for having a job, I would have read this in one sitting. Great read!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  90Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.