Reader reviews and comments on Before I Die, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Before I Die

By Jenny Downham

Before I Die
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Sep 2007,
    336 pages.
    Paperback: May 2009,
    336 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 40 reader reviews for Before I Die
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Catherine Codie-Leigh (01/20/12)

Before I Die
I am 18 and I thought I would have a different reading aspect on things, I then saw this book and thought i would have a go at reading it. I lost somebody close to me so when I started reading this book it made me cry for a good reason, am so glad I read it because now it gives me good aspects on things that can harm your body for life (not saying that in a nasty way) hahaha! I Love It, It's a great book to read, so get it and start reading!!!
Hanna (12/08/11)

Woow
It's was the best book ever. I was only 12 years but it doesn't matter. I appreciated a lot of the book with this style. With this book I realized that life was precious and we have only one. So, when you are healthy, this was the most important to be happy.
Chelbi (07/28/11)

Reality
Darlynne I respect your viewpoint BUT it's naive and sheltered (not writing that to offend). Today's teens are and have been from a young age surrounded by sexual innuendos and messages where ever they turn whether the parent approves or not. Being a teen myself I know the basic happenings of today's young adult world and unless the oblivious-to-the-world are reading this book then they already know about it. It's not as if she wrote an erotica and marketed that for a young audience. It's a realistic view of how a dieing teen savoring every last second of her life would think and act. Rash and impulsive but she does it because she wants to and sadly more people don't think like her. They take the miniscule things in their life for granted, like way someone wakes you up in the morning on the weekends. I would recommend this book to the teens I live near. Maybe then they'd stop being so materialistic. I love when Tessa throws all her things out the window. Its not the things themselves that are nostalgic it's the memories they bring back.
Stephanie (05/10/11)

This book is wonderful
I have to disagree with Darlynne about it being pushed towards the younger ages, I mean the story is after all written from the perspective of a sixteen year old anyway, and I doubt we will be seeing seven year olds trying to get into the story. All books are like that even the fourth book of Twilight has sexual content and is pushed towards the younger readers and the movie too but you don't see anyone complaining about that. This book made me think about my life more and things that I would want to do before I die. I loved it till the very end.
Darlynne (04/05/11)

Concerned Parent
This book is filled with graphic sexual content and should never be intended for a teenager. It should only be for mature audiences. Shame on the publisher for gearing this book towards a younger audience.
Dawn (01/24/11)

Loved this tearjerker!
I'm an adult - late 40's - who loved this book. I just finished it last night, sobbing out loud.

I think it beautifully captured what it would be like for a teenage girl to die before her time and what it would be like for her family.

I found her to be amusing, touching and sweet and not at all unlikeable even though she chose to put some "bad" things on her bucket list like stealing. Even so, there was a humorous edge to her actions.

Tess is a memorable and unique character that will be missed long after the last page has been read.
Mariah (09/21/10)

The best book ever!
I personally think that it is one of the greatest books I've ever read, everything that happens in the book seems to grab the readers attention.
Max Carter (09/14/10)

Heartbreaking, a beautiful tale about the life and death of one far too young to die.
Touching from the beginning to the end, Jenny Downham draws the reader into the depths of Tessa's mind in brilliant description as well as the little things that we notice every day, but never think to write about. Downham could not have written a better book, for she mere fact that it is physically and surrealistically impossible.
Before I Die sheds a new light on what is important in your life, and how to live your life as though you were dying. A beautiful book through and through, every word and paragraph grabbing. It's impossible to put down.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.