Reader reviews and comments on The Greatest Generation, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Greatest Generation

By Tom Brokaw

The Greatest Generation
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Nov 1998,
    412 pages.
    Paperback: May 2001,
    412 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Greatest Generation
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jim P (02/27/13)

Forget it
This is a perfect book for people of questionable intelligence that haven’t a clue about actual history and are too lazy too examine the historical records to obtain the truth about World War 2 or to put it more bluntly it’s a feel good book for the mentally challenged. A more accurate description of the time can be found from an old TV documentary that aired in the US in 1975 called THE WORLD AT WAR. This British made 30 part series of one hour shows took you from the political beginning of the Nazi’s during the great depression right through to the bitter end of the Axis forces. This film came out in the cold war years and was surprisingly accurate considering the self serving propaganda of the former allies at the time. I was only 28 years old back then when I watched the entire series and I thought, they never taught this in school. If you have a brain then forget this book and find the original THE WORLD AT WAR series. It’s well worth the time.
Ranae (01/17/12)

The Greatest Generation
Reading this book started as a assignment to write a review about in world geography, but to me it went much farther than that. There was a book selection to choose from and most people in my 9th grade class chose this book or The Millionaire Next Door. When I began reading it I was intrigued by it and took it everywhere with me, at one point it even brought me to tears. I now believe this was the greatest generation and have a new found respect for my elders. I strongly recommend this book and think that everyone should read it at one time or another.
Ron Hartman (04/17/11)

Tom Brokaw Needs To Write One More Book
I have the title for his next book, "How America's Greatest Generation Has Screwed Their Grandchildren", subtitled...."Social Security and Medicare, The Two Greatest Ponzi Scheme's Ever".They worked hard but never had the guts to properly fund their "Golden Years", and now their children and grandchildren are paying the price.What do you think?
Thomond O'Brien (06/18/09)

Tom's Fairy Tale
Not enough credit given to allies, especially the USSR. Two weeks after D-Day, Soviets launched Operation Bagration, destroying three Nazi armies; if they had been in France we would have been destroyed in the Normandy hedgerows.

Check Stalingrad. Check Kursk, biggest tank battle in history, it was the remnants of those battered Panzers which gave us trouble at the Battle of the Bulge.

4 out 5 Nazis were killed on the Eastern Front.

Say again, who won the war in Europe?
JoeFromMN (05/12/09)

Great stories, occassionly marred with bits of Brokaw's liberal slant.
The book is actually well written, captivating, and deeply moving. There are only occasional flashes where Brokaw's liberalism shows itself. He should be commended for the restraint he practiced in putting together a piece that is objective on politics to the degree that it is.
Also it is organized so nicely, where each chapter is it's own mini-story.
My wife caught me with a tear in my eye while reading a couple of times.
Thomas E. Sofranko (11/17/08)

Merchant Marine Comments
Concerning The Merchant Marine in WWII
The only mention was one Para on Page 18 and it was an uneducated derogatory one at at that.

You should not even comment about them without some intelligent research. The AMM had the greatest per capita losses than any of the branches of service. One of every twenty six never survived. Accurate research will show that their pay for comparable rank was equal to or less than any of the service members. We were all volunteers and especially on the East coast we were in enemy waters as soon as we left port. In the first six months after Pearl Harbor we lost over 200 ships and over 2000 men along the east coast to German submarines. I was Chief Radio Officer on the SS Edward H Crockett and was Torpedoed by U-310 in the Barents Sea on Sept 29, 1944. My pay stopped that same day. I had a shipmate on that run that was sunk on the previous run and still volunteered to sail again on my ship and was my mentor saying he would help me when we would get torpedoed. He shared my lifeboat without which would be certain death.

As you stated in your book "The AMM was the safest of all services." I wish you would have been on our ship, it would have been very enlightening for you.
emily (08/13/07)

greatest generation
This book was very well written. It shows how well an average person can do something extraordinary. I had to read this book for a class and I thought I wouldn't like it but it was so far one of the best books I've read about this generation.
ML (08/05/04)

This is a wonderful book to read. It's very informative and a pleasure to read! It's a book for the young and old.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...
  • Book Jacket: Complicit
    Complicit
    by Stephanie Kuehn
    When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  150The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Who Said...

Information is the currency of democracy

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O O T F P, Into T F

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.