Reader reviews and comments on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

By Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jun 2003,
    240 pages.
    Paperback: May 2004,
    240 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 45 reader reviews for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Nils Franco (08/19/11)

Highly Recommended
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime teems with quirky detail and a style of writing so unique you’ll be left with an open mouth in awe of Mark Haddon’s innovative style. I encourage anyone looking for a good read to check out Haddon's mystery novel.
The novel’s writing style stretches limits through its attention to detail and by delving into the questions of life without the typical clouded nonsense, like when an author tries to sound more insightful than he actually is, making these questions impossible to answer. The book’s autistic protagonist, Christopher Boone, does too. It’s got the foundations of a typical coming-of-age story: drastic situation leads to drastic measures. The hero must dive into uncharted territory, forcing himself to overcome his irrational fears to resolve the conflict. The mystery begins when Christopher finds his neighbour’s dog slain in the neighbour’s front yard. Christopher exhibits an uncommon bond with animals; he explains that this is because animals have three straightforward feelings: happy, sad, and okay.
   In the novel, Haddon mulls over the meaning of truth, death, love, hatred, and fear. He poses the questions, “What is truth, and what crosses the line to become a lie?” or, “How does fear dictate our actions? How about love and hate?” The author truly allows us to be free to evaluate these questions that have remained disputed since sentient beings have walked the Earth.
   This work emphasizes the power emotions have in our life, from the small intuitive details to the life-changing decisions, by showing life through a monochromatic or B/W lens. In doing so, we see how effective colour is, and how boring films would be if they lacked this element. The book makes the reader question everything they hold dear to them.

On an unrelated note, this is the first book I have genuinely enjoyed since reading Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder in fourth grade. I found the amount of detail to be compelling and oddly captivating.
me (09/09/10)

hmm
It was very interesting. I liked parts of it but sometimes it got a little slow and I wanted to throw it down. I got mad because Ii could never tell what was going to happen next like I normally can with books. But overall I liked it. Just give it a chance and you'll find it's actually a good book. It has a lot of symbols and words between the lines.
Ashley (08/19/10)

Wonderful
This book has opened my eyes to an entirely different world. it makes you stop and think for a second, wow is that what really goes through the minds of people like this. Wonder, just wonderful. the book will make you smile, cry and it might even make you mad a little. The boy starts off as a sick boy trying to solve a crime in his neighborhood to a wonderful young man trying to put the pieces back together in his life. Christopher is smart, witty and brave.
CMH (08/12/08)

CMH's Thoughts
The book was invigorating. Very fun to read. I recommend it to anyone.
Brandon Diep (06/04/08)

Good Book
This book is one of the books that have everything in you want in one book, it is a comedy, a heartbreaker, and a mystery and very clever having Christopher being the narrator. So if you ever get a chance to read this book because I had a fun time reading this wonderful book.
Brandon Diep (06/01/08)

Fun to read book
This book is one of the books that have everything in you want in one book, it is a comedy, a sad story, and a mystery and very clever having Christopher being the narrator. So if you ever get a chance to read this book because I had a fun time reading this wonderful book.
Brian F (05/18/08)

good book
This book was very interesting and I loved feeling the sense of being in Christopher's shoes. You really get a piece of what it would feel like to have autism due to the authors great job of writing as if he had it. Its truly a unique book and its a good read for many levels of of readers. : )
Darcie K (03/20/08)

Fascinating
This story is told from a fascinating perspective. It reflects on many adult situations in a wry sense of humor. Sometimes Christopher sees more clearly than those of us without "special needs". This is a sad and humorous story that I highly recommend.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.