Read what people think about Palisades Park by Alan Brennert, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Palisades Park

By Alan Brennert

Palisades Park
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2013,
    432 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 30 reader reviews for Palisades Park
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dorothy T. (05/28/13)

A love letter to Palisades Park
Alan Brennert has taken a famous old place, which he admits is a cherished part of his childhood, and populated it with wonderful characters, both real and imagined, to highlight the history and the lifestyle of this New Jersey icon of the 1920s to 1971, and the people who were part of it. He has used a sort of “cut-and-paste” approach to develop his main characters, blending true stories and people so that the readers can watch the history through their eyes, as we also watch their relationships bend, break, and heal. It all makes very convincing reading and a way to learn about things that are rare today. (I now know more about high diving and carnival concessionaires than I thought possible.) There are many suspenseful scenes that kept me turning pages and almost holding my breath.

Aside from the apparently obligatory (to me annoying and unnecessary) language, this book is well-written and engaging. And for days I had that Freddy Cannon song going around in my head!
Becky H (05/04/13)

Another winner from Brennert
Brennert writes generation spanning novels that are well researched and well written with engaging characters, vivid place descriptions and enticing plots. In Palisades Park he does not disappoint. lthough Palisades Amusement Park itself is the main character, Eddie Stopka the main human character, his children and his friends are by no means shorted in either characterization or plotting.

Brennert' people react the way ordinary folks would in similar circumstances. His plot twists are reasonable but not mundane, exciting but not overwhelming. These are people you know and care about. Their story is arresting and satisfying and you are sorry when the book ends.

One of the things Brennert excels in is incorporating "real" people, places and events into his story line. Even if you are knowledgeable about the actual historical events they are so seamlessly incorporated you find yourself wondering only why you "didn’t remember" the fictional parts. Perhaps because I am from Chicago, I especially appreciated the inclusion of crime and mob influences. He handles racism with sensitivity and realistic drama. World War II and the Korean War are touched on in ways that will resonate with those affected by today’s military incursions. Divorce, women’s roles, faith, bullying, dysfunctional families, immigration and business practices are all timely and timeless topics well covered.

And, if you haven’t yet read Moloka'i and Honolulu his two previous best sellers – well, you should!
Katherine S. (Seaford, VA) (04/15/13)

A Roller Coaster Story
This book follows historical events through the eyes of a family of Palisades Amusement Park workers from 1922, through the Depression and WWII, up to 1974. They are likable dreamers who struggle with everyday lives. Many of the sights & sounds will be wonderfully familar to anyone growing up in NJ. Very descriptive, though sometimes slow.
Kat F. (Palatine, IL) (03/14/13)

Great read
I finished reading this book last week while on a cruise. It's a wonderful book for pleasure reading. I think we all have a "Palisades Park" from our youth - for me it was Riverview on the Northwest side of Chicago. I was taken there as a very little girl and have limited memories. The park was closed for a long time, but we would drive past nearly everyday and my parents would point out rides and stories from their younger days at the park.

These days we have the great corporate owned amusement parks as well as the local carnivals and fairs and generally we think we have an idea of what goes on behind the scenes, but this book dispels those ideas.

These was a lovely book that covered a lot of years, so naturally there were a lot of good times and bad times, both in history and personal lives. This book did a good job covering it all.

I will definitely be recommending this book to my book club.
Mark O. (Wenatchee, WA) (03/11/13)

Palisades Park: a high dive into a family
Palisades Park is the history you wish you had, for your family. The timeline stretches 50 years, from the early 1920s to the early 1970s, encompassing wars (two), desegregation (slowly), and crime (organized). The Stopka family is an extended example of John Lennon's "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." Palisades Amusement Park, a landmark in New Jersey, was the primordial soup in which the Stopka family evolved, providing a livelihood, an extended family, and a classless university.

For book clubs, Palisades Park has themes to discuss: trials by water and fire, leaving as a necessity to coming home, illusion and reality.

This seems an old-fashioned book to me, not a modern story of dark dysfunction or exploding terrorists but rather a story of the verities: do good work, play fair, dream with muscle, love people anyway.
Diane D. (Blairstown, NJ) (03/10/13)

One of my favorites!
This book is SO interesting, especially to someone (like me) who lives in New Jersey. The history of Palisades Park was something I expected, but I wasn't thinking about the other history that would play into the book...even though the book jacket mentioned it. I loved how it all came together, and I think it would make a great book club entry. The characters came alive, and I enjoyed seeing how their lives played out, through the emotional upheavals in the book.

Anyone, who lives in the area, would especially enjoy reading this book...even if (like me) they hadn't ever been to Palisades Park. My husband had been there, and the book makes me a bit jealous of that. The book stands on its own, even for those who have no connection with this area, and I urge them to read it, too.
Kay D. (Strongsville, OH) (03/08/13)

Nice History of Palisades Park in a Fictional Mode
Overall the book was an easy read. Characters were believable, but not developed very deeply. Historical information delivered throughout the fictional story was interesting and provided a good picture of the park through the years. At times I felt that the author jumped around a bit just to get various topics covered throughout the history of the park. Not sure the book needed to be the length it was - might have been better shorter and more focused. Enjoyed the book, but not one I would necessarily recommend to anyone unless they were looking for a light read and they were interested in historical fiction.
Marjorie H. (Woodstock, GA) (03/04/13)

Nostalgia
This book was most enjoyable. Everyone has a "Palisades Park" in their lives. Good times, good friends, good memories. While the Park too center stage, the characters gave a look into life during the mid-century. Dreams and ambitions take the forefront and are presented in a most delightful way. At times, bittersweet, the ending is very satisfying. I would highly recommend this book.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  132Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.