Read what people think about The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Devotion of Suspect X

By Keigo Higashino

The Devotion of Suspect X

Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for The Devotion of Suspect X
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Rachel B. (Waynetown, IN) (02/04/11)

Twists and turns to a dramatic end
I very much enjoyed this book, and will be recommending it to my book club primarily because so often in the story the sense of what is right and fair is distorted by sympathy for Ishigami and Yasuko, even when in hindsight it would be completely unjust for things to turn out the way they would have liked. I appreciate that not only is the big picture spectacular at the very end, but also that once the whole of events is revealed I found myself remembering little glimpses all along the way that lent validation to the final chapters. Very well thought-out and much potential for group discussion.
Maggie R. (Canoga Park, CA) (01/26/11)

A stew of elements
I collect mystery/espionage set in other countries and find this a backdoor into other cultures. The Devotion of Suspect X did not disappoint. And it has the added element of the mathematical puzzlement to add suspense.
Nikki R. (Irvine, CA) (01/20/11)

Misplaced Devotion ?
Having grown up in Gardena, CA post WWll the Japanese culture was very familiar to me. I fell under the spell of this book quickly and virtually clipped from page to page. The writing started out a bit stilted, but with the quickly developed plot and twists it soon didn't matter. It's all here; love, loyalty, dishonesty, guilt, regret, and of course murder. Would love to see this as a movie! If I have any complaint the ending felt like I hit a wall. It wasn't very satisfying.
Mary O. (Boston, MA) (01/14/11)

Haunting
This is truly a murder mystery or "whodunit" page turner! It is an engrossing read where you don't want to take a break when you are reading it. This book continues to haunt you after you finish the last page. It is a book about love, blind devotion, sacrifice, truth and justice. With some surprising twists and turns, the question remains "does justice prevail?"
Lee M. (Creve Coeur, MO) (01/12/11)

The Devotion of Suspect X
Keigo Higashino has written a twist on the usual murder mystery. This not a ‘who done it’ as the reader is told who, when, and why in the beginning. How the murderer is hidden from the police is slowly and cleverly laid out by the author in an amazing mind duel by two old mathematical school acquaintances
Amy H. (Benbrook, TX) (01/08/11)

I was pleasantly surprised!
I really enjoyed this book! It was a well-written book by a Japanese author - evidently the book was released in Japan in 2005 but has only recently been translated to English and is scheduled to be released in February 2011 in the US. Evidently this author is the Japanese version of "James Patterson" so I was interested to read it. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed! After I established some familiarity with the Japanese names (which was a little difficult for me), the story fell together. Wonderful plot development at a pace just quick enough to keep me interested, but not so fast as to be rushed or unrealistic. There's a huge twist at the end that I never expected, and I will definitely be looking for other books by this author! (In English, of course).
Marta T. (Lafayette, CA) (01/06/11)

well-crafted plot
The writer of this mystery, unlike many modern works written for an English-speaking audience, takes a leisurely approach with many layers. The story begins by establishing the relationship between two Japanese neighbors before a murder occurs and continues with a game of cat-and-mouse between one of them and a police consultant who understands how his mind works. The murder cover-up is the real focus of the story. Recommended for the plot, but pacing may be slow and characters too thin for some readers.
Cynthia B. (Puyallup, WA) (01/06/11)

Devotion of Suspect X
An outstanding cat-and-mouse crime novel in which, I swear, you will read with one eyebrow raised the entire time! Keigo Higashino points out that "Theories and logic are all very well, but intuition's one of the best weapons in a detective's arsenal." True, but is it possible that this weapon may misfire?

Though Higashino has written many novels in Japan, covering almost all genres, very little has been translated into English and what has is difficult to find. It is with great hope that we will see more of this great and talented, award-winning author's work translated, and dare I hope, that we will see more adventures from Detective Kusanagi and physicist Professor Yukawa (aka Detective Galileo)? That would truly be a dream come true.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...
  • Book Jacket: The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    by Gabrielle Zevin
    I feel like Gabrielle Zevin wrote this wonderful book, about a lonely New England bookstore owner ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin
  2.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh

All Discussions

Who Said...

Poetry is like fish...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.