Read what people think about The Girl in the Green Raincoat by Laura Lippman, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Girl in the Green Raincoat

A Novel

By Laura Lippman

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2011,
    208 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 reader reviews for The Girl in the Green Raincoat
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kelly (Chagrin Falls, Ohio) (12/26/10)

Great plot twist; weak character development
Overall, the book is a fast read and quite good. The plot is very interesting and familiar. The plot twist is unexpected and delightful and converts a familiar story to a unique story. The only real weakness is a lack of character development in all but Tess' character. Perhaps such development is not necessary as the story is Tess plus the plot. However, a bit more rounding out of some of the other characters, particularly Crow and Whitney, would provide depth to the story to make it a great read.
Patti F (12/08/10)

Girl in the Green Raincoat
Having never read a Tess Monaghan novel before (where have I been??) I will be back for more! I felt like I was out there on that porch with Tess, in this twist of Rear Window. The story pulled you right in but it is the cadence of the language that keeps you engaged. Each chapter appears to be a mini layer all its own, stories within the main story that added to the plot. Just wonderful.
Barbra W. (Dexter, MI) (12/03/10)

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
After reading the first few pages of this novella, it struck me as the perfect easy, get-away-from-it-all story. With a nod to "Rear Window" and likable main characters it seemed like a great weekend read. But as I got into the book, I found the overall cadence of the book rather flat and predictable. The characters seemed somewhat 2-dimensional. The main character never struck me as particularly good at her job as an investigator, nor did the "big twist" in the plot seem all that surprising. So while I'd like to recommend the book, I'd have to say that overall it was just so-so and I wouldn't seek out other books in this series.
Kathy G. (Alamo, CA) (12/01/10)

The Girl in The Green Raincoat
I read the book in two days between house guests and preparing Thanksgiving dinner. It was a welcome friend as I slipped into bed after a long fun day. My only negative is that I had trouble relating to Tess's attitude toward pregnancy. I was glad that she became a loving and caring mother at the end. Regardless, the book was very well written and I will read another of Laura Lippman's novels.
Nancy D. (West Chester, PA) (12/01/10)

Short but worthwhile
I enjoyed this book, especially the premise of Tess's confinement. Although the book was short, really a novella, the story kept my interest and was well executed. I have read books by Laura Lippman before but this was my first Tess Monaghan. It will not be my last.
June A. (Randallstown, Maryland) (11/26/10)

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
Interesting plot. Otherwise rather insipid. Little character development. My first encounter with this author, but it probably appeals to fans of this series.
Kristen H. (Lowell, MA) (11/23/10)

Mole hill to mountain while still mole hill
This book starts out with Tessa noticing a girl walking in the park with her dog and then the girl goes missing and while everyone else thinks that Tessa is making a mountain out of a mole hill in this girl's disappearance she is certain something is wrong. This book captivated me from the beginning for it starts with such a simple premise and the whole story stays simple though the ending is a bit of a surprise.
Liz M. (Morristown, NJ) (11/23/10)

The Girl in the Green Raincoat
I really enjoyed this book, it's a short story that keeps your interest with a good plot and characters. This was my first book by Laura Lippman, but not my last. I will definitely go back and find other books written by her. A good book to curl up with on a cold evening!

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.