Read what people think about Adam & Eve by Sena Jeter Naslund, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Adam & Eve

A Novel

By Sena Jeter Naslund

Adam & Eve
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Sep 2010,
    352 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Adam & Eve
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

chetyarbrough.com (05/27/11)

Belief
Sena Naslund’s writing skill is beautifully displayed in “Adam & Eve” but the story stretches suspended belief to a breaking point that makes the novel less than it could be.

Naslund re-invents arguments about the creation of man and the inherent conflict between science and religion. Character actions seem too hap hazard, bizarre and unbelievable to carry the weight of their meaning.

Arguments for religious and profane, sectarian beliefs are sometimes too obscure for a reader to clearly understand the author’s intent.

Even with these harsh criticisms, Naslund’s writing is a pleasure to read. There is enough suspense in “Adam & Eve” to compel a reader to complete the story.
Claire G. (Merrimack, NH) (10/24/10)

Adam and Eve
I was looking forward to reading this book about the conflict between science and religion. There are some interesting ideas presented but I ultimately found it confusing and fragmented. It is an ambitious attempt to ponder the beginning of life and it's origins through an alternative narrative of the book of Genesis. I never fully appreciated the connection with that and the life in the garden of Eden with Adam and Lucy. I did enjoy the descriptive quality of the writing and the relationship between these two people. Somehow though I am left wanting for more but I'm not sure for what. I felt I just wasn't getting the message the author intended. All in all a very interesting novel. I look forward to reading more by this author.
Susan O. (Tiburon, CA) (10/16/10)

A Different Look At Genesis
I found this book to be very absorbing, but at times difficult to follow both chronologically and geographically. Perhaps this would not have been a problem for a reader more intimately familiar with the Bible, however, the characters of this book were the ones I had difficulty tracking. Ms. Naslund's writing is very lyrical and paints vivid pictures which are a joy to read. I did develop a positive feeling for the characters and wanted to find out their thoughts and outcomes. She also offered opportunities for looking at the story through the philosophies of different religions without "taking sides". I think this book would offer great opportunities for discussion with book groups who have established an "open minded" attitude among their members. I'm glad I read it, but it wasn't among my favorites.
Rosemary K. (Saginaw, MI) (10/10/10)

Get me out of here!
Sena Jeter Naslund's latest effort is a dreadful book: the plot is pretentious; most of the characters are unbearable. The author, in her elaborate scheme, promises wonders, but what she delivers is meager.

The character of Adam was especially maddening. It was sheer torture reading the sections about him and "Eve." I also got weary of references to the "memory stick," which somehow always survived. Coincidences abounded. I'm usually able to suspend my disbelief, but not to this extent.

The ending was not satisfying, although I was relieved to close the book at last.
Joan B. (Ellicott City, MD) (10/05/10)

Adam and Eve
I have been struggling valiantly to read this book. Unfortunately, it seems that the review will not be in a timely manner. So here is what I am thinking. I love the word choices and sentence structure Naslund uses. Her descriptive passages show the reader the setting of the story. But, it is the story that gave me trouble. I did not like nor could identify with the characters. The mixture of fantasy and realism showed me little of science or faith. I was a Science teacher and really wanted to enjoy this book.
Molly B. (Longmont, CO) (10/03/10)

Fiction as entertainment and education
Sena Jeter Naslund has created yet another wonderful combination of philosophy, history and magic. Like Ahab's Wife, Adam and Eve is compelling, informative and thought provoking. While I happen to agree with the philosophy that she proposes here (divinity lies within each of us, ego prevents understanding), Naslund also made me comprehend fanatacism to the point of sympathy for the first time. The knowledge she exhibits of many challenging topics such as astrophysics, ancient theology, mathematics and prehistoric cave art makes reading her work an opportunity to learn and think in addition to the entertainment value.

Accessible intellect and challenge are what she provides. I now know what boustrophedon means and what Gethsemane is - the tangents of looking up her references provide interest beyond simply reading her words. Her humor is all the better for its subtlety and tongue in cheek qualities. A few of my favorite lines: " 'Your exactness lacks precision, my friend' " and "Some of his smaller, weaker fingers were afraid, but his hand as a whole was confident."

Naslund uses many examples of the yin and yang that makes up all of us humans: past and present, past and future, dark and light, thick and thin, above and below, the immediate and the infinite. This is a great story which provokes thought on the part of the reader as entertaining and important as the story itself.
William Y. (Lynchburg, VA) (10/01/10)

Adam and Eve, a novel by Sena Jeter Naslund
"Audacious" might well serve as a descriptive word for Sena Jeter Naslund's latest novel, "Adam and Eve". Author of 1999's celebrated "Ahab's Wife", Naslund goes far afield in this effort, setting it in the near future, a time of conflict between followers of science and believers in biblical inerrancy. As the title suggests, the tale provides a challenging contemporary spin on Genesis, with Adam and Eve (now called Lucy Bergmann--a play on "Lucy" of archaeological fame) dwelling in an Eden somewhere between the Tigris and Euphrates rivers.

Rich prose and several excellent set pieces make the book a page-turner, and the theological and political implications are cause for reflection. It may be difficult for some readers to suspend disbelief, but book clubs will find much to discuss about both the characters and what they represent in today's world of religious rivalry and discord.

[Editor's note: Biblical inerrancy is the doctrinal position that the Bible is considered accurate and totally free of error.]
Soosi D. (Shelton, Washington) (09/28/10)

Adam and Eve by Sena Jeter Naslund
Adam and Eve is an industrious literary effort. Set in 2019, it is filled with a myriad of contrasting images, concepts, and plot lines. I found myself reading this book with a yellow marker in one hand and a pen in the other. I was compelled to underline sentences I wanted to re-read or think about and places that I wanted to comment on, right in the text! I was struck by the repetition of images/symbols, repeating themes of contrasting ideologies ( varying Creation stories, science versus art, literal versus figurative). I am eager to discuss this book with others, chapter by chapter, to get the most from it. I was reminded of Lessing’s "The Cleft" and Yann Martel's "Life of Pi"; there were times I was unsure whether it was a fantasy or not.

There is a desire to search for deeper meaning in images such as the falling black piano and the succubus in Eden. The story creates healthy opportunity for comparisons of the Creation story across the Jewish, Muslim, and Christian faiths. Pacing is erratic. At times the novel moves along like a good Dan Brown mystery, at other times it slogs along, with asides about intersecting characters including a Bedouin Sufi, and a nameless Texan Fundamentalist businessman.

This will be an excellent book club choice for those who enjoy analyzing content and meaning and having conversations of differing perspectives.

"Adam and Eve" is all about change, context and renewal.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.