Read what people think about Gone Tomorrow by Lee Child, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Gone Tomorrow

A Jack Reacher Novel #13

By Lee Child

Gone Tomorrow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2010,
    576 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 46 reader reviews for Gone Tomorrow
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

pete (02/18/12)

gone tomorrow
Unlike the other Reacher novels I've read, this focuses more on the investigative aptitude rather than mere violence. Some may say it lacks as result? I however loved it!
charlie brandt (08/02/11)

Why is the memory stick so important
The book was well written with a great plot. My wife and I couldn't put it down when we were each reading it.

However, at the end of the day, it's never clear why the pictures on the memory stick were important. I still can't understand why the "bad guys" would go to all the trouble to sneak 19 people into the United States to get the memory stick back.
Paula W. (Winfield, IL) (11/10/10)

Had Me at the First Sentence!
"Suicide bomber are easy to spot." Gone Tomorrow grabbed my throat from the get-go and never let loose till Jack Reacher was on his way again. Plot twists and reversals and surprises abound--plausible implausibilities-- and I couldn't put this book down. Caution: a couple of scenes with graphic descriptions made me skip a few pages. But this book made me a Jack Reacher fan forever.
Karen D. (Dedham, MA) (11/03/10)

Gone
I enjoyed reading this book. I am a big fan of mystery/suspense books, so this was a good fit. I had to put the book down for a couple of days, but when I returned to the story, I could remember who the characters were and the story line. Good descriptions of the situations left me wanting more. I hope to read more and to read his newest novel.
Maria P. (Washington, DC) (10/26/10)

Urban Realities
A fascinating look at current issues and concerns in a novelistic setting. City life has changed for everyone, this novel let's you see this through the eyes of someone involved in conflict and survival. The suspense thru-out is very intense and it would make an excellent film. Some current historical situations add reality and an edge to the detail of the storyline.
Becky D. (Jackson, TN) (10/26/10)

Page Turner
I am certain that this will be the first of many Lee Child's books that I will read. As I'm finishing I'm already planning my search for the next one. Gone Tomorrow deals with current issues and brings home the tangled web of national security, espionage, and high stakes politics. I would highly recommend Gone Tomorrow to those who like a fast paced and to the point suspense novel. Reacher is a fascinating character who draws you in from the get go. His nuance for details and innuendoes is enthralling. Great read, nearly impossible to put down.
Karen S. (Minneapolis, MN) (10/26/10)

Gone Tomorrow
A decent read, not great. I was expecting a book that I absolutely could not put down, and while I found the chapter endings urged me to continue, the tug was not so great that the laundry didn't get done.
Marcia W. (Toledo, Ohio) (10/24/10)

Gone Tomorrow
My first experience with Lee Child and his protagonist Jack Reacher. I would definitely recommend this book. It is a page turner from beginning to end. Definitely on par with Michael Connelly and David Baldacci. The quality of writing definitely overshadows any feeling of guilty pleasure associated with reading this genre of writing,

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  132Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.