Read what people think about Precious Thing by Colette McBeth, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Precious Thing

By Colette McBeth

Precious Thing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2014,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 32 reader reviews for Precious Thing
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cynthia C. (Peekskill, NY) (02/20/14)

Precious Thing
I found this to be a very enjoyable psychological thriller and mystery. Written as a series of letters to her best friend, the point of view is obviously very narrow, which as some have pointed out, can make for an unreliable narrator. And that, to me, is what made it so interesting. There were numerous twists & turns in the plot and as the story went on, it got darker and darker.

I will certainly be looking for more from Ms. McBeth.
Wendy W. (Ann Arbor, MI) (02/13/14)

Rough start, but smooth finish
I had a hard time getting into this book. The literary device of writing the story as if it is a letter to somebody took me while to get used to. However, what starts as a pedestrian missing person story eventually turns into an intriguing psychological thriller with a twisty conclusion.
Wendy R. (Pewaukee, Wisconsin) (02/12/14)

Sure of your Best Friend?
Even when you think you know your best friend, have shared poignant moments and would do anything for her, life has a way of surprising you. Whether you were blinded by love for her, never asked the right questions or thought silence speaks volumes, this book will take you down a path you never expected. I was smitten from the beginning wondering how well I knew my best friend. The plot twists and turns into darkness with plenty of psychological intrigue. I would highly recommend to book clubs for thought provoking discussion. Is she really your best friend or are you being used at all costs, even human life.
Gail I. (Delray Beach, FL) (02/12/14)

Intriguing
Comparisons aside to Gone Girl, this book has a unique style and will be one you cannot put down. I like books about friendship and how people change over the years. I found it to be an interesting novel.
Teresa H. (Mechanicsville, VA) (01/30/14)

Rather Twisted
If I had the option I would give this 2.5 stars. It is slightly more deserving than a 2 if for no other reason it held my interest to the end. This book is so full of twists and turns that I was never sure what was real or imagined and felt rather off-kilter until the end. I kept comparing it to The Other Typist as I was reading it except I found the characters in Precious Thing to be fairly contrived and unbelievable overall.
Pamela F. (Grants Pass, OR) (01/29/14)

Wish I had read this before Gone Girl
This book drove me crazy. I did not like the main character or the narrative style. The craziness of the "friendship" drove me crazy. I, however, kept reading for all the plot twists and turns. Gone Girl is a read alike I am pretty sure. But it is a better book. Maybe I would have liked this one better had I read it first. Although I had a hard time finishing this, I did want to know how it ended and there is something to be said for that.
Susan B. (Coventry, RI) (01/21/14)

Precious Thing
Once I began reading this book I found it difficult to put it down. The plot demanded that you continue right to the surprise ending.The story involves two women who have been friends since they were children. There's a secret about their closeness that is not revealed right away. It is part of the mystery that keeps you reading. What happens to them as adults is the bulk of the novel. It is highly dramatic, very dark and scary in some parts.I don't usually read from this genre but it was a well written book and it kept my attention right up to the very end. I frequently read two books concurrently but could not do so once I began this book. It demanded my attention so that I couldn't concentrate on anything else. I needed to finish this and find out what was happening to these women. When I got to the end I wanted to go back and read the book again so I could remain in the atmosphere that was created in the book. I'll give this book a 3 and a half rating.
Jessica D. (Bemidji, MN) (01/21/14)

Precious Thing
I was not particularly fond of this book. It started well but didn't necessarily end that way. I'm not sure if it was the writing style or the story itself, or possibly both, that created some negative vibes for me. Not one of my favorite reads.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  129Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.