Read what people think about Safe with Me by Amy Hatvany, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Safe with Me

By Amy Hatvany

Safe with Me
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2014,
    352 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 9
There are currently 66 reader reviews for Safe with Me
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dawnymae (12/29/13)

Safe With Me by Amy Hatvany
I received this book as an ARC from the publisher through Bookbrowse. I have not read any of Amy’s books before, but intend to find them now! The first part of the book is difficult to read as you get to know Hannah who lost her daughter in an accident. She is trying to deal with her grief, as she can’t get over losing her daughter. She meets Olivia, whose daughter Maddie has an autoimmune disease and is growing weaker daily. Olivia also has a husband James who is abusive verbally and physically. Hannah quickly grows friendly with Olivia, whom she has found out received a liver from her daughter Emily. The story is difficult to comprehend, and more importantly difficult to understand. I think Amy has done a great job showing each woman dealing with their own issues, Hannah with grief over the loss of her daughter. Olivia, who is dealing with an abusive husband and needs to hide her shame. Maddie, on being a teenager and having an emaciated body. All these issues are well stated and raw with emotion. I don’t think I could have read this if I was or had dealt with any of the problems. I enjoyed the novel and look forward to grabbing another book by her.
Carol N. (San Jose, CA) (12/16/13)

Safe With Me
Having just read "Safe With Me," I am having very mixed emotions about its content.
I was prepared to read about a mother's devastation on the loss of her daughter and her decision to donate the child's organs. I was not prepared to have the domestic violence – the voice of Olivia as she struggles with her abusive relationship with her affluent dark sided husband.

Having raised two daughters and now enjoying a delightful 16 year old granddaughter to love and cherish, it made the subject matter very real at times and I discovered it was difficult for me to absorb. Several times I put the book down and didn't return to it for several days. I believe the author made a statement on her acknowledgement page that she had tackled this subject once before unsuccessfully and was ready this time to really write it... and she did. I am not sure I liked the ending. Could there have been other options? This novel tugs at your heart way after having read the last page.
Bettye (Phoenix, AZ) (12/13/13)

Sequel please!
I Really liked this book. The female characters are well drawn and very sympathetic. The "bad guy" is great to despise. There are very insightful and poignant passages regarding the loss of a child. When I looked up and saw that there were only a few pages remaining, my heart sank; I was NOT ready to say goodbye to these three interesting women. I'm actually hoping for a sequel.
Carol E. (Stone Mountain, GA) (12/09/13)

Safe With Me
Amy Hatvany's "Safe With Me" was an enjoyable read. I was captivated from the beginning, and the storyline held my interest throughout. This book touched on several human and social issues: the unfortunate loss of a child, organ donation, domestic abuse, and bullying. Although I think Ms. Hatvany could have delved a bit deeper into the subject matters, her writing style was thoughtful and emotionally provocative. Her treatment of the love, pain, understanding, and sacrifices associated with mother/daughter relationships was realistic and heartfelt. I liked this book and would definitely recommend it to my book club. . Young adults could also benefit from reading "Safe With Me."
Lee W. (Knoxville, TN) (12/08/13)

Could not put it down!
I was drawn in to this book immediately. The author caught the emotions of Hannah and was able to convey them to me, the reader, in such a way that I felt that I was on the street with Hannah. The author was able to speak in all the characters voices with ease and I had no trouble switching from voice to voice. The subject matter was a little tough to read in parts; but it was realistic and I wanted to find out how the characters moved through their conflicts. I was relieved at the end, when everyone came to the end they deserved. All in all I enjoyed this book and look forward to others from Amy Hatvany. I will be recommending this one to my book group as well!
Mary Beth S. (Mequon, WI) (12/08/13)

Safe with me
Amy Hatvany brings a lot of major issues to her book "Safe With Me" - single parenthood, the death of a child, organ donation viewed from both recipient and donor family, spousal abuse. She manages to weave all these topics together seamlessly into a plausible, well told tale. This quick read would be a perfect choice for a book club. Any one of Hatvany's big ideas would work as a conversation starter; all of them strung together would make for an interesting evening.
Sandra W. (Marietta, OH) (12/05/13)

Thought provoking
This book made me think about relationships and ideas. Nothing happens in isolation. We are all affected by the actions and decisions of others. The characters were well drawn. I could empathize with the characters and felt If I met them on the street I would know them.
At the beginning with the death of Emily Hannah is lost. What does she call herself because there is no name for a mother who has lost her daughter. She is not an orphan, a widow or a widower. My favorite character was Maddie because of her strength in sickness and recovery. If a good story appeals to you read Safe with Me. You may find however that you have trouble putting it down.
Kay K. (Oshkosh, WI) (12/05/13)

SAFE WITH ME
This is a book about women, three of them, Hannah, Olivia, and Maddie. My connection as a mother drew me into this book. I was crying by the end of the first chapter and yet the book is really about healing. Hannah's journey through grief. Olivia's quest for freedom from abuse, and Maddie's struggle to find out who she really is as a person kept me reading. Their connection through Emily binds the three of them together and kept me reading to find out the resolution.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.