Reader reviews and comments on Blue Diary, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blue Diary

By Alice Hoffman

Blue Diary
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jul 2001,
    336 pages.
    Paperback: Aug 2002,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for Blue Diary
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (07/07/04)

A beautiful and intelligent book about love and loss
Darragh (12/15/03)

This was the first book by Alice Hoffman that I have read and I've mixed reactions to it. In essence, it's worth sticking with the book and reading it for the character development despite the stylistic excesses. Hoffman has a bad case of "purple prose". She would, no doubt, describe it as "an ultra-marine tone, similar to the underside of a Navajo hummingbird's wing during a roseate sunset in the desert"; it is, nonetheless, purple.

What Hoffman can do very well however is understand the complex emotions and thoughts of people caught up in circumstances they feel they do not control. Is it politically incorrect to suggest that her sympathy seems to be a type of feminine consciousness, albeit one men would benefit from developing further?

I struggled with this book and would hesitate to recommend it to a friend whilst at the same time admiring the author’s skill. In future I’ll peek into another Hoffman book to get a glimpse of the prose style before taking it to the checkout.
Gingeena (06/24/03)

I thought this book was superb, I loves how the natural world was drawn into this book and how nature was used to described people and feelings.
Heather Metzler (04/10/03)

I enjoy anything unpredictable and out of the ordinary and Hoffman delivers this in The Blue Diary. I love the multiple points of view that she reveals chapter by chapter. This allowed me to focus my questions and inferences on the plot rather than on how different characters thought or felt. Her symbolism is beautiful and soft in a book with a rather disturbing subject. Rarely do I read a book about the deconstruction of a character--amazing.
fitzy (03/17/03)

I loved this boo- One of my all-time favorites!
annarte (09/06/02)

I only read the beginning of the first chapter.I was immediately repelled by the banality of the prose, one hackneyed image after another.Even if the story is good I can't bring myself to read it.Sorry.
roseann emge (08/22/02)

Alice Hoffman's novels are in a league of their own. Her magical, lyrical prose wraps around the story in a way that leaves the reader wondering how she does it. Blue Diary is a story of hard choices, believable yet imbued with a dreamlike quality. My favorite of her books is Second Nature, but this one is a worthy entry in her body of work.
pp (06/16/02)

This book is lousy.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  132Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.