Reader reviews and comments on The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

By Michael Chabon

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Sep 2000,
    636 pages.
    Paperback: Aug 2001,
    656 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Austin (05/28/08)

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, by Michael Chabon, is one of the best novels of 2001 as shown by being the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2001.The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay is of the most weird books that I have read.

This book is an adventurous piece of historical fiction that is base on true events but is written in a fictional way. If I had to rate this book on a scale of 1-10, I would rate it between a 5 or a 6. The reason for this rating of a five or six is that I had no problem with the plot, but the story using so many characters moving in and out of the plot was really confusing. At times it would go to fast and I would loss my place, but there was a good theme in the book.

I think the theme is about some people being scared of their past. The story is about a guy named Joe Kavalier who is an artist trained in Houdini-esque escape, loves to talk to people who meets this other guy who becomes his friend. This other man’s name is Sammy Clay a outgoing people that loves to read comic books and he is trying to write a comic book series. Sammy and Joe dream up a comic book hero. Then Joe goes off to war and returns dressed up like the comic book hero they made up to surprise Sammy and his friends. I really don’t want to give you all the plot because it will give away the ending. The book starts out in New York City post World War II on a cold night at Joe’s mom’s house.

What I did like about the book was that author was really good at setting the scene of the place as well as making the characters feeling like they are real.
Andy (10/10/04)

It's great! A very good twist of the elements of metafiction, science fiction, and realism.
Barry G. (10/06/04)

An amazing blend of genres, from an historical novel to pop culture. The book is wonderfully written, with descriptions of time and place that put you right there. My only criticism is that, at 639 pages, it is a bit long and, thus, somewhat redundant in theme.
cita (05/14/04)

AMAZING.

I spent the entire night just reading, could´t stop.
Jon (08/01/03)

The book was great at various different points, especially the first 250 pages. However, then it became drowned out with needless detail that ultimately leads to a rushed ending that is unsatisfying and in many ways incomplete.
anna k (05/26/03)

An excellent book, an intricate and interesting plot. The characters are sympathetic; even when you disagree with their actions, you identify with their motivations. Great ending, not fairy-tale perfect but reassuring.
SteveS (01/18/03)

The book is simply a treat -- the type you hope never ends. Buy it, read it, enjoy it.
Alexa Intrator (11/12/02)

I'm on page 592 and just don't want it to end. It's a brilliant epic with metaphors that work and language that is simply, or not so simply delicious.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  90Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.