Reader reviews and comments on Bobos In Paradise, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bobos In Paradise

The New Upper Class and How They Got There

By David Brooks

Bobos In Paradise
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: May 2000,
    288 pages.
    Paperback: Mar 2001,
    288 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Bobos In Paradise
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Christine (01/23/11)

Favorable
Recently pulled up a sample of this book on my Kindle and barely into it knew I had to read the whole thing. What a refreshing and delicious sociological analysis. Who knew we Americans were such an hysterically funny people. Bears remembering when taking ourselves too seriously. In addition to humor rivaling any good stand-up comedian's, there is much food for serious reflection. I have ordered copies for various friends and family who I know will similarly enjoy this wonderful book.
laura (09/05/10)

Bobos not as cool as yesteryear
Using wit rather than analysis, Brooks compliments his readers on their quirky tastes while ignoring the vast number of Americans, and others, who do not fit his consumer taste class, either because they do not in fact share the values he describes or because they simply don't have the money. and now, a decade later, the description of the laid-back, tolerant wisdom of this "BoBo" class in ascendancy shows up as ephemeral, since we have spent a decade in which the ostentatious rich have led us into crushingly expensive wars, destroyed the financial markets, restored nepotism, and figured out how to feed the working class and rural dwellers a dangerous breed of hater-malarkey in order to grab and keep political control.
Jessica Mende (07/30/05)

Hells Ya
David david David. Brooks Brooks Brooks.

I am in love with this man. Anyone who can write sociology like this and with such sharp wit? A+ Why can't other sociologists write like this? Serious, if all of us were like this more people would 'get it.'

This book is accurate to a 'T' and needs to be read by all. And thought about by all too.

yerba mate, anyone?
Javier Gonzalez (11/03/03)

I enjoy this book very much! I am agree with everything that David Brooks wrote in this book.
Bill (10/22/03)

It is amazing how a book can be written so accurately and in such an entertaining fashion on such a complex social, political, and economic phenomenon, and then leave us with no remedy...Mr. Brooks! How do we stop this 'Bobo' movement, they've gotta go!
Bobo (06/12/02)

I can't believe this has happened. I never knew there was any other Bobo, than me. I have been Bobo since I was fifteen, just out of my rat tail comb, french toes, cuban heels, and vaseline, VO5 and Brylcreem's 'Little Dab'll Do You' days, not to forget Aqua Velva, man, what a life! The book is on the edge of all life stands for, doing your thing, your way, with respect. Bravo!
jean simmons (02/27/02)

i thought bobos explained the differences between this new social class and the other traditional classes

it was very interesting

i enjoyed it!!!!!

chaching

Anonymous (07/15/01)

Judith King
I rushed out to buy the book. Bobos stands for Bourgois Bohemians, and the subtitle is The New Upper Class and How They Got There. A major reference for Brooks is the New York Times Sunday Wedding Announcements. (!) He tracks the ruling class over the past 50 years, from the ending of aristocracy and the Eisenhower/Beaver families, through beatniks, hippies, plutocracy, and finally to the emergence, he says, of a meritocracy. (My belief is that was what the founding fathers were aiming for in the long run.) Humorous, trenchant, and a solid read. Go for it.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  125Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.