Reader reviews and comments on Monsoon, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Monsoon

By Wilbur Smith

Monsoon

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 reader reviews for Monsoon
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Marquis (01/29/04)

I think what really made this book good for me, was that I did not know what was going to happen next. I had a general idea, but the way the plot worked was very good an unexpected, if not excellent. At one point in the book I wondered how there could be another 500 pages to read, only to discover an unexpected twist and significant turn of the story. The author's imagination is fantastic. This is one book that should be FORBIDDEN to be made into a movie. A movie could not do this justice.
Oli John (01/26/03)

Awesome book. Awesome author.
Daniel (01/19/03)

This book is just so great. I grabbed it from my mothers cabinet, and once I started it I couldnt stop and 2 days later without any sleep or contact to the outside of my room I finnished Monsoon. When I turned the last page I got the feeling, I want to know what happends next, give me more words, darn it.
Wilbur is very good in making you understand the characters and to describe their surrounding. Anyway, read it. I didnt even know there was a prequel, guess what book I am gonna buy next.
Gareth Walters (01/11/03)

Mr Smith has done better, the story was predictable, the story lines could be antisapated. This took away the allur of the book.
Guchi (01/06/03)

In all my life, I have never had an author to read such as Wilbur Smith. Where he stores these stories in his mind, I don't know, but where ever it is, it certainly contains a vast treasure of limitless creativity.
Gonzalo (10/25/02)

Ethnocentric and barely entertaining. In many aspect is a mere replay of "Birds of Prey" a generation after.
Anonymous (08/13/01)

Dave
Just finished reading Monsoon. It took all of four days to get through the
950ish pages; I just couldn't put the darned thing down. This is an all too
common affliction where Mr Smith's books are concerned!
It met all my expectations and more and is yet another fine work by a master
storyteller at the peak of his craft.
I can scarcely wait for the next installment!
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Steve
One of the best books I have ever read. A swashbuckling adventure in the finest tradition. This is a book I could not put down. After I finished I wanted more.
Also for Maria: Concerning the prophecy - It is FICTION. Don't take the story as factual please. Fiction writers invent stories, at least that is what I believe the word fiction means.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...
  • Book Jacket: The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    by Gabrielle Zevin
    I feel like Gabrielle Zevin wrote this wonderful book, about a lonely New England bookstore owner ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Hell hath no fury.... like a woman scorned

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.