Reader reviews and comments on Gap Creek, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Gap Creek

By Robert C. Morgan

Gap Creek
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jan 2000,
    324 pages.
    Paperback: Oct 2000,
    336 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Gap Creek
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Rebecca (12/02/11)

Despite Catastrophes
Julie's character is the story, while she is not well-educated, her fine intelligence is given justice in her narrating voice. Morgan has the ability to capture emotions and mental images over and over with Julie's voice.

The story is a snapshot of one year, and while some express incredulity at their many misfortunes, I think they are realistic. These are young and inexperienced people suddenly and unexpectedly in charge of a homestead. In the real world, misfortune can occur in a series and is not neatly spaced, so I find it believable.

The most poignant part is how easily they leave when it is time to go, as if the most precious relics of their stay are the experiences lessons learned and each other.

As Julie says, time was a gift that just kept coming day after day.
andi (07/07/11)

nice work
I think the book was a great job, people really lived that way so I loved how Julie explained everything so simply.
Reading Nana (04/10/10)

A decent first draft
Morgan tells a decent but contrived story - All that happens is so predictable as soon as the novel gets going. My biggest complaint is that the book is written in Julies' voice. Morgan consistently uses poor grammar but, as important narrative is created he falls off. If Julie is really telling the story she uses vocabulary beyond her education and culture. I would have liked to see some more information of her growing up and formative years. I felt obliged to stick to the end, but found my self skimming over several pages at at time. Too many holes.
katie Gilbert (03/29/10)

A pleasing Read
I enjoyed this book alot. I could really relate to the girl in the book..average physique average intelligence average everything! AHH I LOVED IT!!!!:)
Theresa (02/12/05)

This book was "OK", but I am not sure what all the fuss is about. By the time I got to the last 50 pages I was angry with the book. Its an Oprah Book Club selection and a NY Times bestseller, but I am missing what all the hype is about?!?
Andrea Mathers (12/24/04)

Gap Creek is one of the best novels i have ever read! This book is captures your attention from the start and holds it until the very last word. The story is simple and pure..i would highly reccomend it for reading newcomers.
Brittnie Marie (11/07/04)

I just finished this book, and I loved it. Its one of thoughs books that I will always think about from time to time. There was a couple slow parts, but most of it was very good. I have a one year old, and reading sometimes is hard to do, but with this book, it just kept me locked in it. Julie is such a strong girl, and and her life has taught me alot. Robert Morgan made you feel like the characters are real living people, and the book flows together wonderfuly.
So if you are a women, and your looking for a strong women to encourage you, Julie is the women you need. Read Gap Creek.
Brittnie
Anonymous (06/14/04)

I really liked this book. Julie and Hank were compelling. Julie was 'raw', honest and deliberate. I felt the author did a good job of capturing the emotional void and equalizing it to the finacial void. He brought the characters to the bottom of the river and let them rise enough to tread water at the suface.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin
  2.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh

All Discussions

Who Said...

Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.