Reader reviews and comments on We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families

Stories From Rwanda

By Philip Gourevitch

We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Sep 1998,
    356 pages.
    Paperback: Mar 2000,
    368 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 reader reviews for We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Amanda Greer age: 19 (12/02/04)

Amazing book. Not only does Gourevitch put truth right into your face with quality and thoughtful writing, he makes you question what else we aren't being told. He solidly proves that things are often sugarcoated for the masses and to prevent genocidal events like this from happening we need to be educated. This book will in no doubt have you wanting to know more about international involevement in true human affairs issues.
Soldat (11/22/04)

Great book. Really puts a stick in the spokes of the wheels of people who believe in the "humanity" and rationality of the west. "Never again" is just stupid, it happened again in Rwanda and will happen again. If you want to go on believing in a fuzzy image of a peaceful, loving, generous, and just world, do NOT read this book. This book will reveal to you in no uncertain terms the truth of human nature and human interactions. This was a genocide the Hitler's, Stalins, Pol Pot's, the Armenian, the Bosnian ethnic cleansing, etc. After reading this book I am disgusted with all parties involved in the whole thing except the RPA/RPF. Read the book if you want to know who they are, they're the only good guys practically.
Aaron Hicks (10/20/04)

Unbelievably astonishing wake up call. Eye opening, it will change your perspective. Gourevitch's passion is inspiring to say the least.
Mountain man (05/09/03)

I found the book to be quite inturesting, though about a tough topic, the author managed to report the facts of this horible atrocity to the world. In doing so couldnt prevent it from happening, however brought it to the light of the western european people who I hope will not allow such atrocities to occour again. Its time to wake up hate and power is still a mainstay in many third world countries the only way we can stop it is by getting involved. After reading this book thank god Clinton is out of office how could he let this happen what a <edited>.
Kyleigh (04/10/03)

No tip-toeing around what is a very difficult subject. Gives you the facts and the details which allow you to see the whole picture of the Rwandan genocide that has so often been misunderstood.
Jennifer Liz (03/23/03)

This book shows how life was in Rwanda. This book is a great book to study as a class assignment. This book is sad but informs the reader very much.
Asma (11/26/02)

Its an amazaing book. A brillant and endearing report of the Rwanda genocide. It depicts and illustrates every gruesome aspect of the massacre through first hand accounts. Its a remarkable book, and I would recommend it to everyone, we should all be aware of what happens behind closed doors.
Ciaran (10/28/02)


Finally a face put the genocide in Rwanda. Not enough of us truly know what went on in the 1994 massacre. one of only a few truly important books I have read recently. Just as I believe every person should learn about the holocaust, every person should learn about the case in Rwanda. This book can fill that need.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.