Reader reviews and comments on The Dante Club, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dante Club

By Matthew Pearl

The Dante Club
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Feb 2003,
    384 pages.
    Paperback: Feb 2004,
    400 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for The Dante Club
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lily (08/17/13)

Tedious and Pretentious
Tedious and pretentious. The marketing of this novel was brilliant. People are afraid if they say they found it a huge bore they will be judged lacking erudition.

The plot concept is intriguing but its execution lacks tension and momentum. The characters are flat and bland. Dialogue is insipid and lethargic. This book is a mess. People tend to stand in awe of the classics, of Harvard, and Oprah, etc., and I suppose that is why we have such a difficult time saying in this instance that the emperor has no clothes.
Avid reader (04/14/07)

Thriller?
The most thrilling experience I had with this book was watching it fly through the air toward my garbage can. Wooden characters and no discernible plot. Great descriptions of facial hair though!
Katie (01/09/05)

AWESOME BOOK!!!
Christy (09/20/04)

I've selected this book for my book club! It's got everything we enjoy -- history and mystery and more! I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good read!
Bryce (07/07/04)

A fantastic novel. I very much enjoyed the time spent with Longellow, Holmes, and the other members of the Dante Club! The writing was crisp and tight while characters were well developed with unique (and consistent) strengths and weaknesses. The story moved quickly and ably transported the reader to historic Boston.

Admittedly, it takes a while to become fully immersed in Pearl's world. That said, once done, there is no going back. In fact, Pearl's book, and ultimately Dante's Divine Commedia, stay with you.

I had not received much exposure to Dante prior to reading the novel, but had no difficulty staying with the story. Most importantly, I became inspired to read Dante for myself just to see how true Pearl stayed to the master.

Again, a wonderful book by a very promising author.
EvylWykdMe (04/24/04)

I very much enjoyed Matthew Pearl's novel, The Dante Club. It combines several elements of various different types of novels I enjoy reading: mystery, horror, history and surprisingly, romance.

Mr. Pearl's treatment of historical fact intertwined with entertaining fiction made for an interesting read. I will admit that the beginning of the novel seemed "leisurely," but soon took on the speed of a bullet train. I was intrigued and eager to learn the identity of the killer. I was surprised by the revelation and more than pleased that I was not able to guess the identity before it was revealed in the story.

I do not believe that one must be aware of or educated about Dante Alighieri in order to enjoy this novel. In fact, reading this novel made me more eager to read my copy of the Indiana Critical Review version of Dante's Inferno, which I had purchased but not read, long before I acquired Mr. Pearl's work.

The Dante Club is an entertaining novel that will extract a visceral reaction from the reader whether one has an interest in Dante, or not. Do not forget, forewarned is forearmed..."words can bleed."
Anonymous (04/20/04)

I found it quite difficult getting into the book. The graphic description on the state of the dead bodies was sickening. Another point I wish to make is that I have never read Dante and therefore found it difficult to understand much of the references to his work. I feel the book was written for academics in the field of literature and poetry, and not directed to the general public with an inerest in mystery. I feel that some of the language in the book takes for granted that the reader has read Dante or at least has some knowledge of his works. If the book is aimed at interesting the general public about the literary core of the book (Dante), is it not the author's place to address this?
Robert Adam (02/27/04)

So bad it made me cross. I came to the novel knowing very little about Dante's Divine Comedy and finished it having learned very little more. The author who from the glowing testimonies on the jacket is clearly a very gifted academic, has no real gift for fiction. The characters in the novel are entirely one dimensional. The narrative is delivered in mock Victorian. I can understand why the dialogue might be rendered this way but the narrative style merely becomes irritating. Some of the descriptive imagery is snort inducingly bad; for example when one of the characters is pulled out of a frozen lake he alledgedly flaps on the ice like a fish!!! Overall I couldn't have cared less who the killer was which is never a good sign in a whodunnit. The only saving grace is that Dante is clearly the authors thing and he has therefore clearly shot his bolt.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.