Reader reviews and comments on From A Buick 8, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

From A Buick 8

By Stephen King

From A Buick 8
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Sep 2002,
    368 pages.
    Paperback: Dec 2003,
    496 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for From A Buick 8
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dtran (01/05/05)

This book was very slow moving. The characters are nauseatingly, perfectly submissive to authority. A powerful secret...a portal to another world...represented by a self-healing, sinister automobile, is kept completely a secret from everyone except the members of the sheriff's department. Come on! The story leads the reader on a flat journey that is interupted once in a while by "excitement" manifested by random subjects spewed from the car.
JImbo (12/04/04)

It's a good 60 page short story, padded out with an additional 300 pages of filler. Very slow moving, good book to cure insomnia. I had to put it down for a few weeks, then start reading again.........twice.
Roderick Pitts (05/25/04)

This was an awesome book.
Ray Riehemann (02/03/04)

I thought this book was terrific, once again Mr. King delves into the unknown, and your not sure where it is going to lead you. Very colorful desciptions of characters and places. I though it was extremely gutsy of him to do a book with the story set in Pennsylvania. In the authors notes he mentioned this. Great research and I think a damn fine book.
T-Bone (01/30/04)

Would have worked better as a short story - interesting at times but ultimately unsatisfying
daniel h. (12/06/03)

I felt Mr. King, using the Buick as a hook, raised a lot of philosophical questions about the unknown factors of life and death. I don't think he did anything new with these questions, and at times even cheapened them. His strong suit is definitely his characters. I just wish he put them in a better story.
Jayant Saldanha (12/02/03)

The first things that comes to mind is "christine...again?!?" . But this is a totally different book. Personally I liked the book for its great characterizations but was left feeling a tad unsatisfied because there were a number of loose ends. Not King's best but a good read nonetheless.
Oliver Burke (08/16/03)

I simply loved this book, didn't want it to end. King's characterisation is brilliant-the State Troopers quickly become so real that the reader feels he is actually sharing a root-beer as they chat about life at D-Troop. A 'MUST' read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.