Read what people think about The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Deepest Secret

By Carla Buckley

The Deepest Secret
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2014,
    448 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for The Deepest Secret
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Maggie P. (Mount Airy, MD) (01/22/14)

The Deepest Secret
We all have secrets. What would happen when yours come out for others to see? That is the premise of this book. The writing reminds me of both Jodi Piccoult and Harlan Coben. Like Piccoult, Buckley deals with a family issue, XP, which affects the entire family. Like Coben, I had a hard time putting the book down; and just when I thought I know where the story was going, it took a turn I didn't see coming. A very interesting read, I would recommend to anyone who likes a compelling read.
Mary Margaret F. (North Venice, FL) (01/08/14)

The Deepest Secret
Eve Lattimore worked so hard to keep her family together and one rainy night's tragic occurrence illuminated the reality that each family member was an island harboring secrets against the backdrop of a medical condition that impacted each of their lives.

I enjoyed this engaging novel which would foster great discussion for book clubs. How well do you really know the ones you love? How far would you go to protect your family?
Kathryn M. (Bethel, CT) (01/07/14)

Rear Window meets Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Due to health issues 14-year old Tyler can only go out when the sun goes down. Unbeknown to his cul-de-sac neighbors, Tyler uses his camera to capture moments (and secrets) of their lives.

It doesn't take too long to become involved with the main characters and storyline of the book. There are layers of secrets involving the main characters, as well as the neighbors.

A thought I took away from this book is there are neighbors you don't know, but really do, and neighbors you think you know, but really don't.

I do think the pace of the book is a bit slow and in a few places it's bogged down with "nature" descriptions that I don't find relevant to the story.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, found it to be page-turner, and think it would work well as a book club selection.
Wendy R. (Riverside, CA) (01/06/14)

Engrossing and Thought Provoking
I did not know much about Xeroderma Pigmentosum (XP) going into this novel, nor how limiting survival with this genetic defect could be. Not only does Tyler have to stay indoors during the daylight hours, but certain types of light, including from car headlights, can be detrimental to his health. Extreme care must be taken for Tyler to get to doctor's appointments and the like. His mother, Eve, has gone out of her way to make life as comfortable and safe for her son as possible. She's gotten most of the neighbors on their cul de sac to avoid halogen bulbs and advocated to get the street lights in their vicinity turned off. She will take no chances at keeping her son safe--and alive.

The Deepest Secret is an engrossing novel that takes the reader into the life of Tyler's family. Tyler dreams of being a photographer, and often ventures out into the night without his family's knowledge to capture photographs of nature and life. He peeks into the windows of his neighbors, and probably knows more about what goes on behind closed doors than anyone else. His older sister, Melissa, is the "perfect" child. The one without the genetic defect. Her own life has begun to spiral out of control, something her mother doesn't at first realize. Eve's attention and concern has always mostly fallen on Tyler. She's had to play the role of father more often than not too, her husband living and working in another city, only coming home on the weekends or when he can.

The author takes her time setting up the story, making sure the reader has a clear and in-depth picture of the players involved. As a result, The Deepest Secret is not a fast paced novel. However, it was difficult to put down. I became so invested in the characters, in their lives, and in their fate. I felt for Eve's friend whose daughter was missing, and I felt for Eve and her family, who seemed to be at the center of it all.

This is one of those books I am having difficulty reviewing for risk of spoiling any part of it. It's such a good book on many levels, one I enjoyed thoroughly--and one that left me wondering what I would have done in the same situation. Or, at least, understanding why certain choices were made, even if I did not quite agree with them.

Recommendation: Read it!
Kenan R. (Liberty, MO) (01/02/14)

Couldn't put it down.
I read The Deepest Secret voraciously. Buckley knows how to draw characters who feel authentic. They are flawed human beings who remain sympathetic. The Cul-de-sac becomes a microcosm of society and a mirror that reminds us how very little we know about the inner lives of our friends and neighbors. A mother is forced to choose between what is morally right and what is best for her child. The fallout from her decision is a gripping narrative of the price that love exacts from all of us, and the compromises we must make. I have read Buckley's other 2 books and with this - her 3rd novel - I am a fan.
Ruth O. (Downingtown, PA) (01/02/14)

Dark and Deep Secrets
A child has a rare genetic condition and must be protected from ultraviolet rays. This is the underlying fabric of this story about a seemingly normal family in a quiet, friendly neighborhood. However, to paraphrase a sentence in the book: 'All the ways in which they've worked to protect this house from the sun had only allowed the darkness to creep inside'. This sums up the story in which no person is exactly who they appear to be on the surface, and all keep dark secrets.

A tragedy occurs early on in the book which develops the story of secrets. I found it difficult to understand the thought processes that the main character, Eve, was going through, although I realize she was trying to protect her son, the child with the genetic condition. Her lies and omissions aggravated me, and I did not feel much empathy for any of the characters, although overall the book was interesting enough to keep my attention.

This book reminded me overall of a Jody Picoult novel but without quite as much depth. It would be a good book club read to discuss emotions and decision-making in the face of a tragedy such as the one presented here.
Virginia W. (Chapel Hill, NC) (01/02/14)

The vast impact of secrets.
The Deepest Secret explores the many kinds and layers of secrets. It will make the reader stop and think about their own relationships (family and community) and how even small secrets can have big impact. As the story unfolds there are plenty of surprises for the reader and an ending that is sure to leave one thinking and revisiting the main themes for a long time. Strongly recommend and feel it would be an excellent book club selection.
Mary F. (Muskegon, Mi) (01/01/14)

The Deepest Secret
When I first started this book, I thought it might be as good as Defending Jacob. I was exciting and couldn't wait for the story to unfold. Unfortunately for me, it never really got off the ground. The story lingered and was predictable. There was a great opportunity for the author to create many twists and turns in this book, but it never happened. I did not get the relevance of the relationship with the next door neighbor. That was just creepy to me. I also did not think there was much resolution at the end of the book. I would have enjoyed the book more if the book was condensed into the first 100 pages and then there was a trial in which the complicated relationships unfolded.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  119Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson
  2.  171The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.