Read what people think about How to Love Wine by Eric Asimov, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

How to Love Wine

A Memoir and Manifesto

By Eric Asimov

How to Love Wine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2012,
    256 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for How to Love Wine
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

lebjohnson (01/02/13)

Helpful tour through a life in wine
I have always been a little put off by the emphasis on the all-knowing wine critics, unable to taste some of the flavors they emphasized (tobacco), not always understanding why a wine was rated above 90, but knowing what I liked. This book, besides describing how Eric Asimov learned to know and love wine (the most interesting part of the book for me), gave me a path and a validation for my tasting of wine, a much appreciated push in the right direction.
Debbie-Lyn C. (Kitty Hawk, N.C.) (10/03/12)

How To Love Wine
The title of this book is misleading. I wanted to gain knowledge of wine, maybe an insiders view to help in learning about different varieties, regions, foods to pair with, storage, etc. These topics are hinted upon after the slow beginning which was more about how the author came to enjoy wine and then become the NY Times wine critique. I do agree with his thoughts on wine notes and how silly they can be. I was interested in learning about how some wine taste tests are run. The chapter on The Home Wine School is where I obtained information that could be useful in teaching "How to Love Wine."
Susan B. (Rutledge, MO) (09/28/12)

Interesting – to the right crowd – but repetitive
In general I think only wine enthusiasts will appreciate this book. I found it interesting because I like wine and went through a phase of learning more about it several years ago, but those with only a casual interest may find it drops too many names and technical terms to enjoy.

The author's main message is that it is totally fine to simply enjoy wine-- without being snobby about it or having to understand or appreciate arcane tasting notes. It's a good message, but was repeated far too often. If you like wine and can skim, you may enjoy this book.
Michelle C. (Atlanta, Georgia) (09/28/12)

Wine for all
Mr. Asimov loves wine as well he should, and through this book tries to share that love with the readers, and encourage his readers to just enjoy wine and the atmosphere it helps provide, without worrying about the label too much or whether one chose the perfect bottle. The book had a slow start and was a little difficult to get through in the beginning. It does pick up, and Mr. Asimov is a talented writer.
Anna S. (Auburn, AL) (09/27/12)

At last!
At last, a book about wine for the rest of us. Asimov assures us that we don't have to be 'experts' to enjoy wine. He argues that enjoying wine should be, first of all, an emotional experience, and as our enjoyment increases, wanting to learn more about wine may follow. I particularly enjoyed his many anecdotes about his love affair with wine, and was delighted with his comments on tasting notes.
Deanna W. (Port Jefferson, NY) (09/17/12)

Still looking for the answer...
By reading this book I discovered how Mr. Asimov learned how to love wine. This is mildly interesting memoir. The author and I share a similar youth in NYC. This book is mostly about the author and did very little to enhance my love of wine.
Nancy L. (Zephyrhills, FL) retired librarian (09/14/12)

How to Love Wine
Eric Asimov's "How to Love Wine A Memoir and a Manifesto" is more manifesto than memoir. After a rather slow start, Asimov introduces his theme - that anyone can learn to love wine and explains in detail that wine is meant to be tasted with food. This theme is reiterated throughout the rest of the book. He gives some clear suggestions for the beginning wine lover and I came away with a much greater understanding of how I can find and enjoy good wine. This book is perfect for people like me who want to enjoy good wine but don't know quite where to start.
Barbara C. (Riverside, CA) (09/10/12)

It's all about the writing.
Whether you appreciate the nuances of fine wine and the drinking thereof or you do not, this book is carefully crafted to be appreciated by a reader of fine writing. Several times I was caught up in a turn of phrase that made me jealous of Eric’s writing ability. In addition, the content was useful and interesting. It made me realize that my wine appreciation was just fine, thank you very much. I could not ask for more—self-validation and entertainment in a single slim volume. This tome is a mini-treasure trove of information about how wine assessment really works (and doesn't). I will read it again and share quotes with my friends. No wine snobs need apply.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.