Read what people think about A Simple Murder by Eleanor Kuhns, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

A Simple Murder

By Eleanor Kuhns

A Simple Murder
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2012,
    336 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 39 reader reviews for A Simple Murder
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Marlys D. (Grand Rapids, MI) (05/23/12)

A Simple Murder
I liked this book well enough, but did not think it was exceptional. I questioned whether the action & dialogue were appropriate to the time period. Also, the ending felt a bit too much like Nero Wolfe transported back in time. That said, it was an easy, enjoyable read.
Carol P. (Mendham, NJ) (05/19/12)

Good Mystery
I was interested to read a Simple Murder due to the time period it took place -1796. I did find the mystery of the murder, the main character's sleuthing skills and the characters in the story interesting however I did not feel immersed in the time period. I was also disappointed in the ending which was very abrupt. I did not experience the resolution I expected to tie up all the characters in the story. I would recommend this book to young adults. The author did write a clever mystery. I would have loved to have the author bring more of this extraordinary time period after the Revolution into the story.
Marie D. (Waretown, NJ) (05/16/12)

Good, but left me wanting to know more
I was intrigued with the opportunity to learn more about the Shakers and more about life in 1796 America. While "A Simple Murder" did provide me a some insight into both, I found the pace a bit too slow moving. All the ingredients are there for a good read, but the character of Will Rees was off-putting. Lydia, on the other hand, was fascinating, a strong woman torn between two worlds and showing the capability of creating a life for herself in either. There are other characters in the book who are better delineated and more interesting than Mr. Rees.
Judith P. (rosebud, missouri) (05/16/12)

Mystery in a different time.
I loved this book as the mystery which drives the story is good but it is the Shaker backdrop and the time 1796 which make the character all the more interesting. One has to step out of our time and back into history ofpost revolution Maine. These characters could easily carry a series of books.
Suzanne R. (Nashville, TN) (05/14/12)

Murder among the Shakers
A Simple Murder is set in year 1796 in a Shaker settlement in Maine. The story begins with William Rees, an itinerant weaver who is frantically trying to find his teenage son who has run away to live among the Shakers. He has barely arrived when he finds himself first accused of murder and then working for the Shakers to solve the murder of one of their own. Ably assisted by Lydia Jane Ferrell and his son David, Rees uncovers many secrets and several more murders before resolving the case in true detective fashion. It is an engaging read.
Chris W. (Temple City, CA) (05/09/12)

Shaker murder mystery
An easy to read murder mystery set in a community of Shakers in the late 1700s. A traveling weaver arrives at this community looking for his son and is later asked to help solve a murder. I learned a lot about the Shaker lifestyle and was actually surprised by some of that information. The characters were interesting and well developed. The author did a good job of making the story believable and connecting the various story lines. I think this would be a good book for a book club partially because of the different lifestyles and historical information. This is a fun and fast read. I look forward to the next installment.
Mary S. (Bow, NH) (05/02/12)

A Shaker murder mystery
As someone who has lived near a Shaker community for many years of my life, I was very interested to read A Simple Murder. I found the book to be historically accurate as well giving a good portrayal of Shaker life. Overall I thought the book was well written, moved at a good pace, and had enough twists so that I stayed interested and couldn't solve the mystery right away.

The only part that I found tedious was the constant "washing up," and description of same, of the main character. While I appreciate good hygiene, I don't need to read about it 3 and 4 times in a chapter.
Jennifer F. (Saratoga, CA) (05/01/12)

Intriguing mystery with unsatisfying ending
A Simple Murder was a unique book in that it was set within a Shaker community in the early 1800s. The characters were believable and interesting and the plot was compelling, but I felt the author lost ground with an ending that didn't live up to the rest of the book.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  119Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson
  2.  171The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.