Read what people think about The Things We Cherished by Pam Jenoff, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Things We Cherished

A Novel

By Pam Jenoff

The Things We Cherished
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2011,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 22 reader reviews for The Things We Cherished
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Patty S. (Towson, MD) (06/14/11)

Not enough of what I expected
Pam Jenoff has used a handmade anniversary clock to move this story through time. It was an interesting way to bring the characters together, though it was a little confusing, at first. I want to have liked this book more than I did. I found the romance distracting from the story I really wanted to read. Charlotte was an interesting character, when she wasn’t rehashing her previous relationship with Jack’s brother.

There is so much historical fiction from this time period that it’s hard to shed new light on it. Jenoff comes very close to doing so by focusing on the possible war crimes of the defendant in the case, but she lost some of the momentum with me by spending too much time trying to write a romance novel at the same time.
Marlys D. (Grand Rapids, MI) (06/09/11)

The Things We Cherished
I found this book very engaging. The back-and-forth between present-day and the past, and the tracking of the clock through history were well done and held my interest throughout. I did think there could have been a bit more historical background in the "past" chapters (for instance, details of what happened to Johann's wife) but I did like following the clock's travels. Some of the characters could have been developed a bit more as well, but overall I found it a good read if not particularly deep. I think it would make a pretty good "beach read" because it isn't too long or detailed--easy to pick up/put down without losing the thread of the story & characters.
Beth (USA) (05/29/11)

The Things We Cherished
I selected this book because I love historical fiction, and I particularly enjoy things set in WWII. However, while I did like the book, it was not a "must read" for me, mostly because the romance aspect is predominant, as opposed to the historical narrative. From the synopsis, I expected more in the way of courtroom and suspense elements. To be fair, I don't tend to read fiction with a strong romance component, so I am probably not the right audience for this one.

The book was very well-written, and the story was engrossing. I just expected something different.
Sandra M. (Valparaiso, IN) (05/26/11)

The Things We Cherished
The Things We Cherished is a powerful reminder of horrific war tragedies and the stories of those who survived and those who did not. (I recently read Sarah's Key and this novel complimented that reading experience.)

The one thing that confused me was the changing character narration, time period and location of each new chapter. I had to stop and really think about who each character was and the context in which I knew him/her since things jumped from 1903 through 2009, with numerous stops in between.

The Things We Cherished is a good read and I recommend it.
Leslie, Richmond Memorial Library, Batavia, NY (05/26/11)

The Things We Cherished
Perhaps expectation set my standards too high, as I've been wanting to read Jenoff's books for ages. I found this book to be ok for a quick summer read. The plot was interesting, but the characters were kind of flat, and I wanted to be "convinced" more of their feelings rather than told. Lots of cliches in the writing also bothered me, but I will certainly try another of her books.
Linda Z. (Corydon, IN) Crawford Co. Library (05/26/11)

The Things We Cherished
This book should appeal to both women and men who are interested in World War II, the Holocaust and would also appeal to mystery lovers. I had read two previous books by the author and enjoyed both. The moral dilemma was very interesting. Was Roger right or wrong in what he did or is there no easy answer? I intend to read other books by this author.
Betty T. (Warner Robins, Georgia) (05/25/11)

Love Triangles
I enjoyed the book even though the story is not all that deep. The two love triangles somewhat mirror each other -- two brothers in love with the same woman. Neither story gets very deep. After all, the book is only 286 pages. It was sometimes hard to grab the thread of the story when it bounced into the past. But the sentimentality of the story saved it. The clock ties the chapters from the past together. Overall, I enjoyed it.
Gee (Troutdale, OR) (05/25/11)

The Things We Cherished
This was a marvelous story spanning many years and locations. It is the story of two attorneys who while working to defend a man against charges of war crimes during the Holocaust find themselves falling in love. The accused is the brother of a man who was deemed a hero during the time. It's the story of their mutual love for the same woman and the significance of an anniversary clock. The book is part love story, mystery and historical fiction.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin
  2.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh

All Discussions

Who Said...

When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.