Read what people think about The Tenth Song by Naomi Ragen, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Tenth Song

By Naomi Ragen

The Tenth Song

Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for The Tenth Song
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sandie F. (Eaton, OH) (11/16/10)

The Tenth Song
Enjoyed the story...Life can change in the wink of an eye. How we handle these situations can be life altering as it was for the Samuel's family. Good story but a bit too predictable.
Patricia L. (Seward, AK) (11/06/10)

Tedious Tenth Song
The Tenth Song by Naomi Ragen is a mediocre and predictable story about a rich New York Jewish family in turmoil. The father is accused of laundering money that eventually funds terrorist activities in the Mideast. The young daughter renounces her potential career as a profitable lawyer and wife of a rising star councilor as the mother wrings her hands and wrinkles her brow over public perception and the meaning of life. Melodrama and some romance ensue and as expected all end up finding some redemption in Jerusalem. Story, plot and setting are very genre specific and not unique enough for readers looking for substance.
Linda Z. (Corydon, IN) (11/02/10)

The Tenth Song
I really enjoyed this book. It made me think about how I would react to a situation beyond my control which affected my entire family. I would think this book would be perfect for book clubs, particularly women. I can see some really good discussions coming from the actions and reactions of the characters.
Beverly J. (Huntersville, NC) (10/30/10)

What Would You Do?
I actually rated this book at 3.5
I was drawn into this story from the beginning, and it had me thinking what would I do if this happened to me, to my family or someone I know, if one day without warning they or I were suddenly considered aiding terrorist.
The story centers around Abigail and her daughter, Kayla and their reaction to the situation and how they come to learn who they are and what is happiness to each of them.
The language was beautiful and the storyline was well paced. I especially enjoyed the location description of the desert commune.
Enjoyable read of family obligation and tradition as it plays against individual needs that will generate many wonderful book club discussions on the choices made by each of the book characters.
Betty T. (Warner Robins, Georgia) (10/25/10)

Ragen LetDown
I absolutely love Naomi Ragen's books so was really excited to start her newest one. But what a letdown! I really tried to like it, but it was so contrived. Disasters fixed too easily. Nice words of wisdom from a guru in the desert. Visions of the Israelites following Moses om a trek. Naomi -- you can do so much better!
Nancy L. (Denver, NC) (10/24/10)

The Tenth Song
This book began as if it were going to be an indictment of what American has become as a result of the Patriot Act, and it could have been. An innocent man, taken in by the FBI, losing all his "friends" (including his rabbi), smeared in the media and finally expected to plead guilty of a crime for which he had been set up.

Instead, it morphed into a Danielle Steel story about his daughter running away to Israel and meeting a man who just happened to be able to prove her father was innocent all along - not once, but twice. Gosh, what a coincidence!
It was a good read - but unbelievable.
Jerry P. (Santa Rosa, CA) (10/24/10)

The Tenth Song
I liked the book by Naomi Ragen and do recommend it despite its pat ending.

The "idyllic" life of a wealthy upstanding Jewish family in Boston is suddenly shattered by a startling event. To add to their legal and financial misfortunes, many people within their Jewish community began treating the family members as outcasts.

The daughter Kayla who is a third-year student at Harvard Law, is upset by her fiancee's demand to delay their upcoming wedding. She's also getting strange looks by her classmates and professors. She leaves school and travels to Israel. She coincidentally ends-up at a spiritual community near the Dead Sea practicing Jewish mysticism. Many of the people there have temporarily "dropped-out" of conventional society for various reasons. They are engaging in a spiritual search with the help of their wise teacher.

Kayla begins realizing what's really important in her life from the spiritual teachings and her self- healing process and becomes a more self-directed person. Her changes are eventually accepted by her reluctant mother and father.
Jane D. (Boulder, CO) (10/22/10)

The roller coaster coasts to an end.
I loved most of the book. It even made me examine my own life and choices. I liked the aspects of Jewish culture and the suspense. When the action shifted to Israel, however, I lost the sense of the individual characters; the group acting and thinking as a single being seemed unrealistic. The ending seemed rushed with everything being tied up into a nice little package. Such horrible events rarely have such perfect endings. The ending disappointed me.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...
  • Book Jacket: The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    by Gabrielle Zevin
    I feel like Gabrielle Zevin wrote this wonderful book, about a lonely New England bookstore owner ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Beware the man of one book

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.