Read what people think about An Amish Christmas by Cynthia Keller, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

An Amish Christmas

A Novel

By Cynthia Keller

An Amish Christmas
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2010,
    256 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for An Amish Christmas
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Terrie J. (Eagan, MN) (10/10/10)

Heart Warming Story
I really enjoyed this book! It was a heart warming story, taking place during the holidays. The story brings a troubled family together as they find out what is really important. Although it is predictable, it is well written and in these trying times, a story like this is what many of us need. I would recommend that this story be shared with the family during the holidays.
Kathleen B. (NV) (10/03/10)

New YA book in Christian literature
By worldly standards the Hobart's family have it all. Then it is all taken away in an instant. The father loses his job then they lose the house and most of their material possessions. They leave it all behind to go to an unknown scary future. On the way to their new life they are in an accident with an Amish horse and buggy. There car is badly damaged and the kind Mr Lusk, an Amish man offers to put up the Hobart family till the car is fixed. While at the Lusk's the spoiled arrogant Hobart children get a touch of reality. Everyone in the Hobart family see that material things do not matter - relationships do. It is a fast and easy read with an enjoyable message and ending.
Marcia F. (Batavia, IL) (09/26/10)

"An Amish Christmas"
The beginning began very darkly and depressing when the Hobart family learned they had lost everything they owned due to the lies and deceit of their father. They had to leave town, leaving behind their friends and home just as the holiday season was beginning. What happens next is a trite story with a predictable ending. There is a "feel good" message for us all and we do learn about the Amish people and their customs. This is an easy read and will probably be best enjoyed by teens and young adults.
Carolee H. (Tucson, AZ) (09/24/10)

A great family story of sticking through rough times!
What a great and amazing story about a family that falls on hard times and is saved my a hardworking caring Amish family. They learn valuable life lessons and are able to rebuild a stable family by learning from the Amish community they are staying with. I could definitely relate to the family and kids arrogance and how we all take life for granted. This is a great easy read on family values and rebuilding of a broken family's relationship.
Linda J. (Manchester, MO) (09/23/10)

Returning to What Matters
Maybe it’s my age, perhaps a longing to return to the Christmases of my youth that made me connect with this book. I confess – I love thrillers, especially a good vampire read, but this simple book with the simple theme of loving each other and being non-judgmental really struck a chord with me.

I read almost half the book setting in the ophthalmalogist’s office (he was very slow!) and finished the rest in the next two days. While over-used, the term “heartwarming” perfectly describes this book.             

The Hobarts have it all – a beautiful home in Charlotte, North Carolina, the requisite BMW, three children who enjoy all the accoutrements the technological age can offer.

Wife Meg feels more and more, however, that something is missing. Her husband James is handsome, successful (obviously), but her life is so hectic that she has a color-coded appointment book to keep track of all the family’s comings and goings.
The two oldest children, 15 year old Lizzie, and 13-year old Will, seem to have no sense of values, and being grateful for what they have escapes them. Meanwhile, nine year-old Sam takes everything to heart, and is a worrier.

An unexpected turnaround puts the Hobarts with an Amish family during the holiday season-no computers, no cell phones, and no television. How they come to terms with their lives and their priorities will keep readers turning the pages.

Author Cynthia Keller did a wonderful researching the Amish and their way of life. It’s obvious she put her heart and soul into this book.
Patricia L. (Alexandria, VA) (09/22/10)

Not as much a holiday story as an examination of what is important in life
A pleasant, gentle if obvious exploration of what things mean and how things can get in the way of meaningful relationships. This quick read reminded me of Debbie Macomber or Kristen Hannah novels, with its cast of essentially nice people with flaws. It made me think about my own children, decisions and assumptions I’d made.
Cheryl (New York) (09/21/10)

An Amish Christmas
More than just a Christmas story, this book will remain with the reader throughout the year. The once wealthy, seemingly happy Hobart family meets the gentle, loving Amish family, the Lutz's. Fate brings the families together; love, healing forgiveness, and redemption bind them together for a lifetime.

The author, Cynthia Keller, is very descriptive of the Amish and their simple but fulfilling way of life. I would recommend this book to young people, as well as adults. My thirteen year old grandson and I learned some very valuable lessons from these families. Although this is a relatively short read, book clubs could enjoy very stimulating discussions.
Helen S. (Palm Desert, California) (09/17/10)

An easy feel good read
Cynthia Keller, author of "An Amish Christmas", intrigues the reader as the story grows regarding the outcome of a family in a situation that is comparable to todays environment. This humanistic endeavor of story telling depicting a family of material privileges that discovers the basics of living is enjoyable.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...
  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Flaming enthusiasm, backed up by horse sense and persistence, is the quality that most frequently makes for ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.