Read what people think about Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Catching Fire

The Second Book of the Hunger Games

By Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Sep 2009,
    400 pages.
    Age range: Young Adult


    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Catching Fire
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Suzanne G. (09/08/12)

2nd in HG Series
Again, what can I say? Only what the popularity of the Hunger Games series has shown to all readers—this second book is a wonderful story.
siera (07/04/12)

reading110
The second book in Suzanne Collins the Hunger Games trilogy, Catching Fire, has you constantly thinking. This story was so difficult to predict. Once you thought you knew what was happening and what was going to happen next it would take a completely different path. Every plan set out by the main character, Katniss, is continuously undermined by some event that forces her to change tactics. By far, the biggest shock and kink in any plan or strategy she can come up with is the announcement for the third Quarter Quell of the Hunger Games. The twist is that the tributes that will enter the arena will not be the usual poll of teens at random but the victors from each District who, once they won the Hunger Game that they had been previously in were given the stipulation that they would be immune to all future Hunger Games.



The Capitol claims that this is a way to “remind the rebels that even the strongest among them cannot overcome the power of the Capitol.” Once all of the players are in the arena you are struggling the entire time to judge each players intentions and motives. Wondering if the friendships among the victors will win out over the fact that they have now become enemies. You are kept on your toes because it is impossible to determine whether the help from one tribute to another is out of the goodness of their heat or if it is really just a ploy to gain their trust so that they can just turn around and kill the other in the end. As hard as you try to evaluate the situation and predict what the outcome will be, or even just the next move for that matter, you are sure to be shocked.



The very last line in the book Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins does nothing to come to a close but only leaves your mind full of questions you are eager to have answered. This is a great tactic that she used to basically force you into reading the next and final book in the trilogy which is Mockingjay. (edited for plot spoilers).
Judy G (01/11/12)

Following the mockingjay
Excellent insight into growing up in a foster home, heartbreak, despair,having a child alone at an early age, symbolism, mother love, devotion, independence and forgiveness. I will look beyond the color when I give flowers in the future! My daughter told me I needed to read this trilogy and she was so right.
Cloggie Downuner (10/16/11)

fast paced
Catching Fire is the second book of the Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Set some six months after the end of the Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark are required to take part in the Victory Tour through each of the Districts to keep the power of the Capitol and the consequences of rebellion uppermost in the minds of the people. Relations between Katniss and Gale Hawthorne are strained. There are some rumours of uprisings in the other districts. The repulsive President Snow gives Katniss an ultimatum. Once again, fast-paced and filled with action, Collins leaves the reader wanting more. Can't wait for Mockingjay
tina (04/06/11)

Catching Fire
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins is the second book in The Hunger Games trilogy. The book picks up almost exactly where the first book leaves off. Now Katness and Peeta have to deal with the repercussions of both winning the Hunger Games. This book will show the harsh realities of living under the Capitals power, and will also give reader an insight of what it is like to live in the other Districts. Catching Fire also adds a new level of excitement to the Games because of twist in how the participates are chosen.
   Once again Katness and Peeta are forced into the Hunger games, but this time to protect the people they love. Because of Katniss defiance against the Capital she is now the symbol of rebellion among the Districts. Katness winning the Hunger Games is even more important because of the hope she gives the Districts. This can be seen when Plutarch says, "While you live, the revolution lives."
   I would recommend this book to anyone who read the first book in the series, unlike many books where the second book is not as good as the first I think this one can hold its own. I think this because there are new story lines that keep the plot moving. If you have not read the first book I recommend you go out and get it right now so you can enjoy the Hunger Games trilogy. I also recommend picking up the third book because Catching Fire is a set up for the third book and when you finish it you are going to be left wanting more.
   My only complaint with the book is that the first half is a little slow. Most of the action happens in the very ending of the book. I love the Hunger Games series because it is so different than anything I have every read before. If you read this book I am sure you will agree.
Rose (12/10/10)

Awsome
I loved it. I finished all the trilogy in less than a month and every time I came to an end of a chapter, I'd be screaming or yelling or crying or be shocked. They were all amazing. It's my favorite book and I'm only a pre-teen. AWSOME BOOK!! I recomend to all pre-teens and up. Love it
Rebecca (07/19/10)

Hunger Games
The new series of books by Suzanne Collins have created a group of fans who are hungry for the resolution of Katniss Everdeen’s distorted, futuristic, dystopia. Hunger Games is written through the voice of Katniss, a strong young women who, unlike other first person heroines, has a head on her shoulders and a no-nonsense attitude. Katniss is easy to identify with, and the readers are easily drawn into her high adrenaline, violent story. The main character is forced by her corrupt government to participate in the annual Hunger Games. In the games, 24 participants are drawn to fight for their lives in a hostile environment. But the environment is not the true danger; it is the 23 other participants to watch out for in this every-man-for-himself, twisted game. The young contestants are forced to make decisions about who they are, who they will be, and what they will fight for. The book is a great for readers young and old who love adventure, and an element of creepiness all packed into a quick read. The thought-provoking book will put you in situations like none other, and will have you on the edge of your seat page after page. Make sure to have easy access to the second book in the series, Catching Fire. You will be craving to read it the instant you reach the end.
Lynn (12/17/09)

Better than the First Book
I thought the first book in the series, The Hunger Games, could not be surpassed, but this book was so great. I really loved how the story and characters are progressing in this new book. Katniss and Peeta are back home, but life is very unsettled even though they no longer have to worry about food or money. They are beginning to get evidence that other districts are beginning to rebel. That is where the story takes off. I don't want to give anything away, but the story develops in a very thoughtful way that is just as suspenseful and scary as the first book. I hope I don't have to wait too long for the next book. Suzanne Collins has put together two very remarkable books.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  19The Arsonist:
    Sue Miller
  2.  167The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.