Read what people think about The Music Teacher by Barbara Hall, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Music Teacher

By Barbara Hall

The Music Teacher
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2009,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for The Music Teacher
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cindy (11/16/08)

Thought provoking read for any level of musician
After a childhood and young adulthood of piano and flute lessons, and providing music lessons for my own children, I found this book to be interesting and thought provoking. Even for the person who "plays the radio," the banter between the characters about the genius of popular culture musicians, and different styles of music is entertaining and fun.

Although the main character is going through a difficult period in her life, the author gives her a wry and witty sense of humor that I enjoyed. The book was quick to engage, but took me in a direction I did not expect. The angst she explores about talent and true music giftedness, and the love/hate relationship with music and the limits on her ability to create it, was insightful. The story line deals with how music has shaped her choices, perceptions and relationships, in ways both conscious and unrecognized. I'm sure our book club would have a lively discussion after reading this book.
ANGELIQUE (11/13/08)

The Music Teacher
The Music Teacher has well-fleshed out, fascinating characters but the book is ultimately unsatisfying because the plot was predictable and unrelentingly melancholy.
carole (11/12/08)

Of Orphans and Harmony
The book is written in the observant style you expect from someone with decades of experience in teaching children and young adults, a calm and detached voice. Her words speak as teacher and as frustrated musician,her other career. Her life as "an orphan" underlies her ability to relate to the other orphans of different varieties in her life. Her story is filled with detail of relationships with some of the many who enter and leave her life according to program. The family stories are observed from a safe distance and the author's running with "quicksilver" anger over her ex-husband or perhaps at life's natural course. The author knows exactly what she wants to say, is talented enough to say it right, and not afraid of saying what most keep private.

Her writing's power and ability to make the reader think is attributed to the characters she writes about, in their way forces of nature in their own right. These include a talented orphan teen who needs much but does not want the pressure of expectation; another whose mind is perhaps deteriorating as he hears voices but exerts a focused energy, a young lover who is full of wonder and hope ethereal sweetness. There is a mix of frustration at how difficult but necessary it is for her to share life with these people was, tempered with a wistful gratitude at being able to in many ways mature and learn to find joy with them in spite of her continuous desire to get in bed and hide under the covers in her trailer home.

The physics interludes are a lovely parallel theme for the story and a nice lesson. I learned a lot about how maturity sometimes does come with aging and that it sometimes means being willing to let yourself learn to accept the moment and enjoy it. In the end we are all orphans.
Teresa (10/25/08)

Entertaining look into the life of a failed virtuoso
The Music Teacher profiles a women who wanted to be a great musician... and her life after she failed to realize her dreams. The book is an entertaining look into one women's personal and professional life- and what happens when she finds one student who really has what it takes. It is easy to read, easy to relate to the characters, and a great read. The end of the book tended to wax a little too philosophical for me, thus the "good" rating. I still enjoyed reading it and gained some insight into why people sometimes choose the careers they do.
Therese (10/23/08)

THE MUSIC TEACHER
My first impression of this book was that the writer/narrator was going to invite me into her world which would be filled with music, angst, characters and her own transition in life due to her protege, Hallie. It is that, and more. The enjoyment of the characters and the struggles of Pearl, the music teacher, seemed so real I thought she was telling the story to me as it happened. This was an engrossing and enjoyable read!
Jodie (10/22/08)

The Music Teacher
I really enjoyed the musical and spiritual aspects in this book. I am a Christian & a musician and several things she said touched me on both levels. It was a good read and one that I hesitated to put down. I was a little disappointed in the ending. It seemed to all of a sudden veer off into a strange direction. I really enjoyed her use of words and descriptive phrases.
Kim (10/20/08)

Kim
I thought the book was going to be a quick easy read, and the brief sounded really interesting. I was very disappointed in it. Pearl seemed to be a self-centered person who only thought of herself. She gets Hallie, a new young promising student, and really messes her around. Pearl seemed to retaliate in many childish situations that she could not face. Hallie came from a very bad home situation and, I thought, Pearl was trying to live her life through Hallie's. Pearl was very childish in some of the decisions that she thought she was helping Hallie with and this made Hallie's life more dysfunctional.

Pearl needed to get her own life in order before trying to fix everyone else around her. By the end of the book, i was really disappointed in Pearl's choice of men and was more than ready to get through with the book.

This book is not one that I would recommend at all, I was more than glad to get to the end of it
Marissa (10/16/08)

Falls Short of A Symphony
This book is not what you expect. It is the story of a music teacher with a lot going on in her world but it misses the mark. The main character is Pearl, a violinist who never made it professionally . She teaches others in a small music store in Los Angeles. The story weaves back and forth between Pearl and Hallie an extremely gifted violinist that comes from a very dysfunctional family. The book captured my interest when the author stayed on the subject of the music and Hallie. Once the author strayed with other character development the meaning was lost.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  131Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.