Read what people think about Killer Heat by Linda Fairstein, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Killer Heat

By Linda Fairstein

Killer Heat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2008,
    384 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for Killer Heat
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cathy (03/28/08)

Unsatisfactory
I LOVE mysteries, especially those with female sleuths. I've heard about Fairstein's work and was anxious to read some of it. That done, I'll go back to reading authors whose work I can really enjoy.

Killer Heat was overwrought, totally predictable, and insulting on a couple of levels. If Alex Cooper is as smart and cool as she's portrayed, why does she tolerate the guff that the cops constantly dish out? I would expect her to tell them where to get off, thereby gaining their respect instead of more insults. Secondly, I appreciate authors who can inform while entertaining. I do not, however, appreciate the information being presented in a condescending tone. Throughout the book, I was disgusted by the way we were "informed" as though we were 5th graders. Overall, a very unsatisfactory and disappointing read for me, and one I would not recommend to friends.
Mary (03/26/08)

Kept me completely immersed
Once again, Linda Fairstein has kept me completely immersed in her newest book, Killer Heat, featuring Alex Cooper and her “partners” Mike and Mercer. This time they are on the trail of a sadistic rapist/torturer/murderer who uses the islands of New York as his dumping ground.

For me, a “good” book has to be engaging, has to make me think, and will teach me something. This book is no exception. In addition to the wonderful ensemble cast, this book gives a history of the islands of New York: Bannerman Island with its Scottish-style castle and Bannerman’s catalogue of military equipment and supplies, Ruffle Bar Island which was once a resort with fifty homes and a luxury hotel, and Governor’s Island with its rich history of being used as a military port from the Revolutionary War, complete with homes, a church and a hospital built for the officers and their families, to its final use as a military induction center in World War II.

There is also a good deal of psychiatry/psychology involved in determining who the “bad guy” is and why he does what he does. There are some very tense moments when Alex confronts Troy and the hurricane-force winds are whipping about. This book is a great read, moving very quickly and very hard to put down. I highly recommend it!
Marganna (03/24/08)

Killer Heat
I finished Killer Heat with more enthusiasm than my slogging through the middle. Overall I was disappointed with the book and thought the characters were very flat & 2-dimensional. About 1/2 way into the story I realized I didn't have feelings for the people in the story. By the final drama I did care enough to hope the killer would not harm any of these folks. This late-to-arrive caring is not enough for me to rate the book over a 3. Maybe reading earlier Alex stories would have provided me with a better understanding & background and therefore more involvement in the story. The historical setting and information about the NY islands were interesting details and well done. The various plots and courtroom issues were realistic and did not distract from the story with the exception of the character Clarita. Overall this book just didn't get me involved and I probably won't read more books by Linda Fairstein.
Lynn (03/20/08)

Another Kill!
Fairstein's sophisticated writing and plot line land this one in the super good category. She is not only tremendously knowledgeable about trials and DA stuff, but in this book brings in some fascinating history (mid-1800's) and geography on Rosevelt and other islands around NYC. If you have read her other books, this is a must, as Alex plays her role out in the streets. If you have not read Fairstein, this would be a good start.
Jayne (03/18/08)

Killer Heat
I was very excited to get this book to preview. I have read other books by this author and loved them all. This one did not change my opinion of this author. The story drew me in right from the start. The balance of courtroom drama, forensic information and the interesting facts about NYC made for a great story. District Attorney Alex Cooper is a character I would like to see again in any more books that this author writes. A very enjoyable read and one that took me out of the craziness of my every day life and put me right there with a great character. .
Selene (03/18/08)

Who Loves a Mystery?
I do - And you will too. Although I am an avid reader of the mystery genre, this was my first Alex Cooper novel. This was a fast-paced thriller and the ending is great. If you are looking for a new series to read, this is it.
Robin (03/18/08)

Manhattan Murder Mystery
This harrowing story of a serial rapist/murderer on the loose definitely succeeded in capturing my attention. Not normally a mystery reader, this book was multi-layered and interposed so many different themes (such as some history of the Manhattan islands, the legal side of an ongoing investigation, and police procedure) that it instantly bewitched me. It was a very quick read, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the mood for an all-consuming, think-about-nothing-else afternoon!
John (03/17/08)

Killer Heat
In Killer Heat, Linda Fairstein brings back familiar lead characters in Asst. DA Alexandra Cooper, NYPD homocide detective Mike Chapman, and detective Mercer Wallace.

The story is set in N.Y. City during an August heat wave and involves the murders of three women that seem to be the work of a single serial killer.

One of the women is a prostitute with some well known clients which could have made this particularly timely in light of the Spitzer debacle but this angle is not pursued and plays no role in the story.

The book doesn't immediately engage ones interest as the opening seems quite reminiscent of a number of other murder mysteries.

The story then proceeds in a very linear fashion with few unexpected twists. A subplot about a Latino gang out for revenge on Ms. Cooper is never really developed and quickly dealt with in the end.

The book is well written, however, and certainly holds one's interest and has suspense enough to keep the pages turning. Ms. Fairstein also provides interesting historical information about some of the islands in N.Y. harbor.

I enjoyed the book and recommend it as a good read especially to fans of the genre. Of course, fans of Ms.Fairstein's work and the main characters [Ms. Cooper and friends] should love it. The quality of writing could also give it broader appeal.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.