Reader reviews and comments on Sea Glass, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sea Glass

By Anita Shreve

Sea Glass
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Apr 2002,
    384 pages.
    Paperback: Nov 2002,
    400 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for Sea Glass
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

liezle (01/19/06)

A Shreve Fan
This is the third book of Anita's that I've read and she does not disappoint! Immediately, my favorite character was McDermott. I so clearly imagine that guy who plays the doctor from Beyond Borders, Clive Owen playing McDermott. The deaf thing really did not turn me off at all. it just added to the charm of the book. Another thing that probably hits home to me is the kind of marriage that Sexton and Honora had. That is exactly my parent's marriage! And I think most marriages are like that. Too practical to think about love. Shreve's subtlety in describing emotional scenes conveys more than the obvious soap-operatic, melodramatic moments some authors tend to use.
chris (11/11/04)

Very shallow. utterly forgettable characters.
Laura (06/02/04)

A wonderfully told story of relationships between husband and wife, between friends, and among family. The novel gives a well-balanced human insight into life during the depression.
shelly (09/06/03)

I thought it was completely wonderful. It was moving and profound in parts, and yet the simplist statement of life. She has a way of stating the little things that you don't notice from day to day. I would recommend this to anyone.
Hilary (08/18/03)

An excellent read - particularly if on holiday at the beach. The characters are beautifully drawn and you have interesting historical details entwined with a yearning love story and an adolescent boy flourishing under the care of a mixed bag of friends. Because you care about the characters and the interplay between them, the book pulls you on and I read it in a day, leaving me thirsty for more! Perhaps in an effort to extend the life of the story, I began to hunt for sea glass myself, and although I never found a red piece like Honora did, I am now hooked.
poohbear (05/31/03)

Anita Shreve has once again written a multi-layered book. While focusing on the marraige between Honora and Sexton, we get a glimpse into the new england textile mills, the last days before th e stock market crash and a look at early union organizing. One gets a sense of the times and the way people lived. The hopes, dreams, and failures that come with living.

I had trouble putting this book down - and I hope that a continuation is in the works.
Julia (05/26/03)

I´m from austria and 15 years old.
It was a real good read. I couldn´t understand a lot of word, but I could understand the sense of the book and it was excellent.
Melissa Brady (05/23/03)

This is such a good read. As you read, you see the story from each characters point of view. I found myself really feeling for these characters, a great quality in all of Shreve's books. After figuring out that this is part of a trilogy everything really came together for me.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Take This Man
    Take This Man
    by Brando Skyhorse
    "A chorus of six men calling me Son might sound ludicrous to you, but to me it's the sound of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.