Reader reviews and comments on Choke, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Choke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: May 2001,
    304 pages.
    Paperback: Jun 2002,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 14 reader reviews for Choke
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Melissa (04/18/07)

Down and Dirty
Only 2 of the participating 4 members of our book club would read this one. They were turned off by the vulgarity of the first part of the book. While I must say I was initially uncomfortable with it, I understand the necessity in the language in describing and making believable an addict's world. I had an even greater understanding for the approach that Palahniuk took when I read the story behind the story on the Choke website!! While the story dealt with the down and dirty, it really ended with hope!
Mattie (08/12/05)

Fantastic
the thing i like about chuck palahniuk's writing is his dark and perverse humor. i loved fight club and invisible monsters. choke did not let me down. it's something you have to read and have an open mind about. it's intriguing and addictive.
jaydilla (03/01/05)

Mr. Palahnuik's novels often examine the pychosis that accompanies everyday people living ordinary lives. Fight Club examined the psychosis of violence in young men who find, not satisfaction, but rather, alienation and rage in conforming to the demands of the modern world. In Choke the psychosis of both altruism and sex is deftly synthesized to make an enjoyable, darkly funny, and disturbing view of adults in America today. Palahnuik is the master of post-modernist writing this era. I must admit that though I enjoyed Invisible Monsters and Fight Club more this is definitely a must read for people who enjoy breaking free from, and satirizing, what it means to be "normal".
morphion (10/03/04)

Having never read any other works of Palahniuk, I was not what you might call prepared for Choke. Being 15 years of age, I was beginning to grow accustomed to novels that brought up strange, disturbing concepts and images, but in relation to Choke, no book compared. Initially I was not sure how I felt, but as the story went on my opinion became more solid and I can now safely say that Choke is by far the most horrifying but brilliant book I have ever read.
The views and ideas that arise in Choke are some of the bravest to be risen in modern literature; Chuck Palahniuk has adopted an ingenious style of writing in which one simply cannot trust what they read. Like many brilliant writers, he doesn't just tell you a nice story, but forces you to think. Your perception of this book will hugely and apparently reflect your perception of the world, and not since The World According To Garp has any novel made me question myself like this.
Even with a book so thick with graphic sex and disgustingly open looks at just about everything, you have to admire what it is Palahniuk is trying to do. Love or hate Choke, it is a book that you will never forget.
big bill (04/26/04)

wow--this is one ridiculous book. a sensationalist piece of junk that should make any fan of so-called "modern literature" shake his head with frustration. contrived, silly, unimpostrant, and most decidedly not a satire. well, maybe at best it is a cariacature of the author. maybe i should finish the thing before i spout off. if you want to read something "swiftian," go read swift.
Sy'rah (08/01/03)

Palahniuk's novel Choke is both thouroughly encahnting and repulsive. His quick and blunt prose is just enough to make some people sqeamish, but if you stay along for the ride, you won't be disappointed. The plot twists that ensue inevitably make your mouth hang open. The novel is also intriguing to many different people, like those who do not read very much literature, because of its strong focal point of sex. However, many other feelings and ideas and nihilistic theories are conveyed and one cannot help admiring how Palahniuk weaves them all together. Choke is a must read for all fans of modern literature and all those who want to start reading quality fiction.
Thereader (03/26/03)

I enjoyed this book... Plane and simple if you can stomach this book you will find yourself not being able to put it down. If you dont blush every time someone mentions sex you should be just fine..
Amy (02/26/03)

Chuck has his own style and wit that accompany his thoughts and ideas of many of his books. If only people could come to terms with who they are and what could be changed for the better instead of hiding everything in their own back pocket, maybe then we could really come to understand human nature and accept it for what it is. The story behind this book is incredible. Palahniuk writes beautifully.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  129Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.