Reader reviews and comments on Man and Boy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Man and Boy

By Tony Parsons

Man and Boy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Apr 2001,
    340 pages.
    Paperback: May 2002,
    340 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 34 reader reviews for Man and Boy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dhian (10/04/10)

It really taught me a lot about things in life...
Well, I'm actually reading it and not finishing it yet. But, so far... I really enjoy reading it page by page. And lessons I could get from this book? A LOT!!! It's not only about relationship but also family issues. Matters that everybody faces in carrier life is even brought up here...and don't forget to mention the honesty theme in living the life.

I even discuss it with my boyfriend especially thing about commitment in relationship. It really inspires me not only to bless every joy i already had in life but also motivates me to keep everything on the right track! Especially maintaining of what we have to people we really care about...
douha khadija (08/26/10)

the best story
Hi am Khadija I'm 18years old. I read this book and I think that it is the best book I have ever read. And what I learn of that book is "when you have something you must take care of it before time lost".
Danielle (04/09/08)

man and boy
I read this book and it made me want to cry.. I am 14 years old and normally kids read books for there age but i like to exceed on books. I've never felt this way about a book before ,you actually feel like how lucky am I to be with my parents and not get beaten up by my farther.i really enjoyed this book and i am going to admit I did cry when I read this book.i do recommend this book to younger readers and older readers too.
infatuated reader (03/26/08)

man and boy
this was an excitingly heart warming book. Tony Parsons books were one of the very first books I have read and so far the best among the admirable authors of today. reading this book has given a new enlightenment to me and the change it has made reading and uncovering life through another mans eye's. It has really brought a sense of loving and gentle tenderness most fathers wish they could have gone through to complete a bond with their children. This was a fascinating new experience for me and I hope I could use some of Harry's experience on my own. Tony Parsons is really an inspirational author.
Becca (06/07/07)

The critics were right for once!!
Finally, we have very right critics, this book which I read for a school project, was not let out of my hands for days, and at every moment I was not sure of what would happen in the end.

That is what I loved about this book, and even told my mother the same before handing it over, I loved the insecurity of not knowing what would happen, because I am a serial reading of predictable reads.

I suggest if you decide to read it, which you definitely should, you should plan for a few days of doing nothing, accept for reading!!
Kimberley C (11/01/06)

Man and Boy - Tony Parsons
A wonderful book from start to finish that incorporates the difficulties of broken families from mistakes - Harry's one night stand - and the unfairness of life that breaks families up - the death of Harry's father.

It is blatant that Harry adores his father - although he does not say it. He is constantly looking to his father for guidance, respect and acceptance and hopes his own son, Pat, will do the same to him. However, when the seemingly unstoppable man falls ill, Harry's life is in dissaray. His wife is in Japan - leaving him to hold down a job and look after his son. Harry is devestated to discover his father has lung cancer and watches his hero slip away into the depths of a "morphine fog" as he is sedated. Soon, he passes over and Harry's mother is left to deal with the death of her beloved husband and she has to try to forge a smile on her face to keep Pat from hurting.

'Man and Boy' is a novel that includes everything from marriage to child birth; one-night stands to new love and new beginnings and old memories... There is nothing about the novel that screams "fake" or "unbelievable" and it is easy to discuss the issues and themes within the book as they are recurring themes in today's society.
Cynthia E. (07/28/05)

Heartfelt writing
Tony Parsons Man and Wife will make you laugh, it will bring a lump to your throat. An unpretensious book that follows the life of an ordinary person making mistakes anyone could make, dealing with the consequences, going through all the emotions that any human being would feel and attempting to make sense of it all. Having said that, one would then expect the book to be boring and ordinary, but thats the magic. Its sheer simplicity and honesty is captivating. It is a most powerful book.
mark (12/06/04)

I found this book amusing and almost tear jerking. finding this book by accident in my parents droors i was so pleased with it i am doing it for my english highers ( in scotland ) i'm 16 . i would recomend this book to anyone and everyone.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.