Reader reviews and comments on The Weight of All Things, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Weight of All Things

By Sandra Benitez

The Weight of All Things
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Feb 2001,
    239 pages.
    Paperback: Feb 2002,
    239 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 6 reader reviews for The Weight of All Things
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Elaine (04/10/12)

Weight of all things
I had to read this book for a English class. I found some parts of it good and others I didn't like. I don't like how some of the people are treated or how long it takes him to realize that his mother is dead. I love the cultural aspect for the plain fact I did a research paper on El Salvador. I thought it was cool that we got to read a book on the place that I was researching. i guess its not a bad book, but its not really one I would read over and over again like I do a lot of other books.
Larissa (01/09/12)

The Weight of All Things
I was forced to read this book for English. I skimmed most of it because it wasn't interesting. Its poorly written. Now I'm stuck writing an essay, and there are no essays online. If this was a good book there would've been more (good) reviews, Sparknotes and essays. Don't buy this book, its a waste of money and time.
Avid Reader (05/11/11)

Amazing Novel
Best story ever required for English! I actually enjoyed reading this novel. Benitez is an amazing writer!
Kayla (11/30/10)

Really?
I was forced to read the book for English class, of course nowadays most of my classmates just automatically assume the book is going to suck. I tried to remain on the positive side as our teacher handed us the books. I am almost all the way through the book and I still didn't think it would be this terrible.

The plot is slow going, death is a strong, poorly written theme, and every little detail just had to be written into each sentence over and over. I'm sure no one would mind if this book just happened to accidentally be misplaced while in my possession.

Seriously, don't read this book.
Kaphik (09/22/10)

it sucked
This was a terrible book. It was slow and it was boring. I would have never read it on my own time. I dozed off most of the time and then had to go back and read the part again. I would not recommend this book to anyone! If you want to read a good book, don't read this one.
Savannah (07/30/10)

Horrible.
I hated this book. It was slow, boring, and though it was about war and how destructive it is I didn't like it. Half of it was in Spanish and I had to Google every other word. I would not recommend this book let alone read it again. This book was horrible and every page I was forced to read made me more and more bored.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  129Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.