Reader reviews and comments on Dune: House Harkonnen, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dune: House Harkonnen

By Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson

Dune: House Harkonnen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Oct 2000,
    592 pages.
    Paperback: Aug 2001,
    752 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for Dune: House Harkonnen
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

A Random Reader (10/12/06)

Wow
Sorry if I offend you but I cannot comprehend how anybody could possibly give this book a 1 out of 5. I myself found the book to be incredibly addicting and found myself constantly reader more than I should have because I needed to find out what happened!
Although to clear my mind I need to point out a few key details:
1) I noticed some people talking about a descrepancy in the Pauls' DOB. However if your ead closer, you can realize that their are actually two Pauls. One from the Prequel Dune's (this is Leto's Father) and one from the Original Dune (Leto's Son).
2) Many people critisized Brian Herbert as not being equal with Frank Herbert... Although I agree with you in the sense that he is not the same as Frank, stating that Brian Herberts style of writing is "inferior" to Frank Herbert's is completely biased.

Thank you for yout time. I highly recommend this book.
Dotcommie (06/15/05)

Shame
Sadly contrived and handled with none of the wit and wonder of Frank's originals. A shame as I genuinly looked forward to the these prequels being published. It is sometimes simple and Hasmir Fenrings character Is frankly a slur on Frank's version of the older count. Shame
drama_queen (12/11/04)

Dark but amazing. The story was addictive, I had to keep reading; really I had no choice. I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! (smile) :)
robertR (09/22/04)

Thought it was poorly written and insulting to the reader. The characters lack depth and you, the reader, cannot possibly make your own conclusions so everything, and I mean everything, is explained. Dan Brown level writing...
Bob (04/19/04)

This is a great book that reaveals and explains more about what happened in
Dune
Christelle Oben (04/26/03)

This was one of the best books i have read so far in my high school career.
Gebeleysis (04/10/03)

Kull Wahad and Ya Hya Chouhada!
I just wanted to say that "Dune:House Atreides" is a top 5 book in the Dune saga: the first one is, certainly, Dune itself.
Carolethecatlover@hotmail.com (06/08/02)

In his introduction to 'House A' Brian Herbert would have us believe that he compiled an extensive 'Dune Concordence' i.e. a list of actualities and plot points gleaned from the Frank Herbert originals.
Even tho' it was many years since I read the originals, I was sure there were many disagreements in 'House A' with the originals.
I bought a copy of Dune and found a discrepency on page 1. The date of Paul's birth. The most irritating of the failures continues into 'House H' and how Duke Leto acquired Jessica....
Some of the plotlines are contrived and do not flow into the storyline. This is always a problem when handling other peoples ideas, but in such a revered work it is downright annoying.
Who is Kailua and why is she in this story?
OK Book editors are hated by authors, but this one was too, too timid. A vast amount of wordage and several improbabilities could have been cut with no loss to the overall relevance of the story.
I, as a woman, have a nasty feeling that Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert, one or both, have far less understanding of women than Frank Herbert had.
The style is seamless and the action sequences realistic. It could have been done so much worse. (Read the sequel to 'Gone with the Wind') Nevertheless, I am and remain profoundly irritated by the obvious and improbable discontinuences with the 'concordence'. Carole
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.