Reader reviews and comments on The First Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The First Time

By Joy Fielding

The First Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Aug 2000,
    352 pages.
    Paperback: Feb 2001,
    352 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for The First Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Debra (05/23/10)

The first time
I really enjoyed this book, I took it away on holiday for one week and could not put it down. I was drawn in from the beginning to the character of Mattie and could identify totally with the dilemma in which she finds herself. The book is well written and will appeal to many. I read the book and relayed the story to my husband who was also captivated awaiting the outcome. The story gets to the heart of family life with all its ups and downs and loves and losses. It is a sad story but makes the reader realise that life is short and must be led to the full. The story outlines how baggage that follows us from earlier in our lives can destroy the future if we let it. I would recommend this novel and say read and then love and live life to the full!
carly (01/23/05)

a very good book. i love joy as an author and i enjoyed this book as much as her others.
eyesod02 (11/30/03)


This book was GREAT! I didn't have high expectations for this book since I usually don't like romance novels, but picked it up at the bookstore since it was a "bargain book" and sounded somewhat interesting. All I have to say is that I don't remember one moment of feeling bored. Books usually have some part in them that are not so interesting, but this story made me want to keep going every second! This book is worth the time and more than the bargain that I got it for!
toothfairy (09/23/02)


Masterful storytelling! Joy Fielding creates complex, compelling characters that power the novel from beginning to end. She dares to and succeeds in exploring emotional issues that are as real as they are complicated. This novel hits home. Well, it sure did for me.

Highly recommended!
Anne (06/24/02)

Congratulaions Joy Fielding! It's been a long time since i've picked up a book and haven't been able to put it down. 'The First Time' is a story that touches your heart... it can happen to any of us. You brought the characters to life so beautifully and made the story so real, I laughed and cried and clung to the roller coaster ride of emotions until the last word. I'm on my way out now to get another of your novels...they're addictive!
Rachael (04/19/02)

I thought this novel was excellent. My mother read it and recommended it to me. I thought it was a wnderful book with emotion and real life situations. I would recommend it to anyone who loves books that they can't put down.
Anonymous (03/21/02)

Dear Joy,
This is the first time I have read one of your books.It certainly won't be the last.The story flowed well & kept me enthralled.I found myself thoroughly caught up in it's characters,
particularly the last half of the book.I cried serveral times during some of the chapters,I also found it very humorous as well.
When I finished the book,I couldn't put it down I kept hugging it & whilst crying my eyes out,I kept thinking of how my own life could be improved.I know that it is a novel and meant to be read as such but many thanks for making me think more on how to get on with my life instead of waiting for it to be over.
Anonymous (02/22/02)

I was unfamiliar with Fielding's work, and picked up Missing Pieces at a secondhand store. I quite enjoyed her writing style, loved the easy dialogue, etc. Then I picked up the First Time anticipating a good read. Unfortunately, not he case. The storyline was maudlin, and the characters weren't very likable, and it was just very amateurish. I don't think I'll try another Fielding unless a freind recommends one.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.