Reader reviews and comments on Innocence, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Innocence

A Novel

By Jane Mendelsohn

Innocence
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Sep 2000,
    208 pages.
    Paperback: May 2001,
    208 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 16 reader reviews for Innocence
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Calliegh James (05/16/09)

Exceptional Horror
I loved it. My heart was pounding every second of it! Mendelsohn really knows how to write! I hope that everyone with the heart to stand it, should definitely enjoy this classic work of art!
ASHLEY (07/10/08)

THE WORST BOOK EVER!
This book gave me nightmares. I found it in my middle school library. This book is not suitable for teenagers under the age of 15. My mother had to go to court to get this book out of my library at school and many parents agreed. So from a teenagers point of view this book was terrible no one that I know of wants to read about woman murdering your girls to stay beautiful. That just sends a terrible message.
Danielle (01/25/05)

At first I was sure this would be another uncomfortably-unreal teen sob story. But for some reason it drug me into it and I couldn't stop reading it. It has been a while since I have enjoyed or related to a book like I did "Innocence". Now it is one of my favorites and I am so glad I picked it up on the bargain shelf. Beckett is a character I became very attached to throughout the whole three hours I read about her. Her story is full of intricate symbolism and heartfelt reality that fills my 15 year old heart with empathy and love towards Beckett. I would definately reccomend this book for anyone! It is a quick read but a deep one.
maria (10/01/04)

The author's vivid imagry is amazing, but it was a little too vague in parts. It seemed like the author was trying to hard, and the second half of the book read a little flat- the story didn't draw me in as well as it could have.
Lauren Hay (08/16/04)

I finished this book in four hours. It was extreemly catchy and drew me in with a magnetic force. I must say that at the end, I was perhaps a little confused, for Beckett's nightmares, hillucinations, or fantasies baffled and bemused me. Overall, I'm not sure how to take it. Is it a huge metaphor, or a twisted story? Despite this, I believe it was very well written and I absolutely fell in love with the style of writing it was displayed in, and the poetic form in which it was so greatly detailed. I'm fifteen years old myself, and reading this book was quite enthralling.
Lee Ann Gilmore (05/26/04)

I began reading this book late one night before bed and after what seemed like minutes turned into hours. I was mesmerized by the way the book was written, it pulled me in and kept me interested from one page to the next. I finished the book in 2 days! I have only found 3-books in my life that have entertained my imagination as this one did. I felt sad when it was done because I wanted to follow Beckett everywhere and learn about her life and how she deals with reality or non-reality! I could feel a sense of closeness to her. The words come alive and bounce off the pages, they fill your head with wonderful vivid pictures and scenes! I felt as if I were right there with her looking into the moment. I read a review by a young girl, 15 yrs old, who found the book to be outstanding as well…I am 30 and this book was just as good to me as to her. Absolutely colorful, creative, and I can’t say enough great things about it… wonderfully written!
Sophia (02/17/04)

ridiuclous. i finished it in less than a day, i coudlnt put the stupid thing down i felt likea huge nerd carrying it aroudn but its that good. its so gripping and i was right tehre with beckett. when she was confused i was confused. when she panicked i panicked.
im definetly going to go read mendelsohns first novel
Mmmmichelle (11/25/03)

YOU AINT GONNA BELIEVE THIS!!!

lol...ok ok ok that was to get your attention, now that i know your reading this let me begin by saying "I LOVE this book" (seriously)
Me, im not the type who enjoys reading alot, i actually HATE it to Death,
i would rather run infront of a car then to pick up a book and read.
But this book got to me. It is such an intresting book It seemed so real and i like how the author wrote it (like how it should be).


Suggestions:read Jane Mendelsohn's first novelI Was Amelia Earheart

well thanx for your time...

micHELLe

  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Take This Man
    Take This Man
    by Brando Skyhorse
    "A chorus of six men calling me Son might sound ludicrous to you, but to me it's the sound of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.