Reader reviews and comments on In A Sunburned Country, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In A Sunburned Country

UK Title: Down Under

By Bill Bryson

In A Sunburned Country
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jun 2000,
    304 pages.
    Paperback: May 2001,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 11 reader reviews for In A Sunburned Country
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ernie (09/20/09)

What a disgraceful book
This book is one of the worst I have ever read. Sure it's funny, but it has absolutely no point to it whatsoever. Bryson tells his sometimes painfully boring anecdotes in excruciating detail, rattles off a few pages of facts, then talks about how much he loves Australia, but then subtly hints at how it so left behind in the world and how he doesn't feel comfortable. I won't disagree that it isn't funny, but there is no point to a comedy book if it has no point or storyline whatsoever.
kyoozoo (08/07/07)

Cliched pap.I loved it.
Here is a caricature of a Bill Bryson sentence: "The town seemed far away, so of course I walked. Of course, it took a long time to get there. I seemed to be tired on arrival, but of course it was nothing a cold beer couldn't fix. The beer seemed stale, but of course I drank it." If I had a nickel for every time Bryson uses SEEM or OF COURSE superfluously...Bryson has his own style, no doubt, which a lot of people love, but if you think he's a good writer, PLEASE read Colin Thubron. Bill Bryson is a writer for the entertainment age, an easy read. However, he does his homework, and often imparts good, solid, interesting information, perhaps easier and more fun to take in and digest because it's simply written. Bryson loves and expects his comforts, and he won't travel beyond them. He never talks to any Aboriginals, for instance, but a tip of the hat for writing eloquently about them, and for offering a poignant perspective on their plight by talking to whitey about them. OK, I admit it, I loved it. I laughed out loud sometimes. I read it happily. But Bryson irritates the hell out of me nevertheless!
Joan Hicks (02/24/07)

In A Sunburned Country
I cannot remember when I have read a more enthralling book.! Be it novel, fiction or non-fiction.! Maybe because I am a transplanted Aussie, I enjoyed it so much. It took me "home".!
I laughed, I cried, and I remembered some of my younger days in this beautiful country. Mr Bryson gave me information, I never knew.

I never skipped one paragraph.! Thank you Bill Bryson.
Jeunviev (01/11/07)

Meh
This book was quite funny at the beginning, but nearing the end of the first and throughout the second chapter, I just found that It didn't have enough excitement. The book just went down hill. It had to many facts for me to enjoy the characters that were in the book. I couldn't finish the book, and usually I enjoy reading alot.
Zac from Queensland Australia (03/08/03)

This book is a hilarious travel companion and should be made essential if you plan to travel to A ustralia. Its full of facts that many Australians (including myself) didn't know and is presented in a witty and hilarious way. A marvellous read.
Gillian (01/16/03)

A brilliant book that makes you want to go see it all for yourself! Funny and full of intresting facts. Once you start you just can't stop.
Greg Duff (12/06/02)

A very accurate and extremely funny-snapshot of this country and its people.
roger (10/04/02)

More please
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.