Reader reviews and comments on The Confessions of Catherine de Medici, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici

A Novel

By C. W. Gortner

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: May 2010,
    416 pages.
    Paperback: May 2011,
    432 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 15 reader reviews for The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Vivian H. (12/12/10)

One of History's Most Fascinating Women
I loved this book. It is well written, well researched historical fiction at its best. Catherine de Medici is one of history's most fascinating, misunderstood and maligned women, a contemporary of Mary of Scotland and Elizabeth of England. She has intrigued me since I was a student in high school studying French language and history and heard the story of the rivalry between her and Dianne de Poitiers for the attentions of Henry II - their separate gardens at Chenanceau, the magical chateau with a gallery that spans river Cher. This book covers her childhood in Florence; her marriage to the dauphin of France (a man who thought her beneath him); her obsession with Nostradamus; and her fight to save France from civil war and invasion resulting from religious conflicts. Three of her sons served as kings of France - the last of the Valois. If you love historical fiction and find the 16t Century intriguing - read this book!
Juli S. (Portland, OR) (05/28/10)

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
Catherine is such an interesting character and despite what is known of her, there is also much speculation and guesswork regarding her motives and methods. I thoroughly enjoyed the way that the author presented Catherine as a young girl eager to fulfill her expected role, a mother and politically savvy monarch.

The opposing sides of her nature and actions are all present in the story and make it difficult to decide whether to love, despise or sympathize with her. I think that I ended up with somewhat mixed feelings about Catherine. She knew that as the daughter of noblemen, her life was not her own, but after the death of her husband she became a power to be reckoned with as she did everything she could to secure the throne for her children. Whether what was necessary was right or moral may not have always been what determined her actions, but perhaps her ultimate motivation was right. She was clearly a complex woman in a complex time.

I was very impressed with the character, the story and the writing. I’m looking forward to reading The Last Queen and am eagerly awaiting Gortner’s next book.
chris (05/26/10)

hmm
Wonderful book, a must read for lovers of history.
Janet M. (Aiken, SC) (05/25/10)

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
C W Gortner has written a spellbinding novel about the French Court in the 1500’s. Catherine diMedici is the storyteller but every character is vividly portrayed and developed. The author states that “Catherine lived a complex life in a complex age.” He has written a book that turns this complexity into a tale of love, politics and treachery. It is a book that you can’t put down and when you finish it you wish you had the sequel in hand.
Marie A. (Warner, NH) (05/24/10)

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
The trials and tribulations of Catherine de Medici "in her own words." An interesting, successful technique to present the reader with events in the life and times of a complex historical figure whose life story is permeated with sadness, betrayals, exaggerations and intrigue. Gortner's historical novel is well worth reading--well written, informative and enjoyable. His rendition could well encourage readers to compare his treatment and research of this historical figure with another of Catherine de Medici's biographers. In Gortner's words, "All stories have two sides, and Catherine's is no exception."
Pamela F. (Grants Pass, OR) (05/23/10)

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
Great read! Very easy to get into and a story you don't want to put down. I haven't read much about this period so it was truly interesting. Catherine was a strong woman and was more involved in the history of this country than you think a woman of her time would be. I would highly recommend this book to those who love historical fiction.
Barbara R. (Fort Myers, FL) (05/20/10)

Catherine DeMedici
Very enjoyable read. Well researched. I enjoyed learning how she managed to keep her family in charge of the French realm for so many years. If you enjoy history, intrigue and a little mayhem, You will enjoy this book.
Maggie P. (Redmond, WA) (05/18/10)

Get a behind the scenes look
I love the author's first person approach to this story. I've been exposed to material about that time period involving England, but not France before this book. I loved the information I was given about this time period in France. It makes me that much more eager to plan my trip to France next year. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in Historical Fiction. This is a nice blend of fact and fiction.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Beyond the Book:
  Catherine de Medici

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.