Reader reviews and comments on Tethered, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tethered

A Novel

By Amy Mackinnon

Tethered
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Aug 2008,
    272 pages.
    Paperback: Aug 2009,
    272 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for Tethered
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

s.e.f.king (02/17/10)

tethered
I started this book two days ago, and the housework is building up. I've come on line in the hope of finding that the Author has published another book as mesmerizing as this cold, sometimes cruel, spiritually uplifting journey. The story is so good I can't wait to finish it while hoping it will go on for a little while yet!
Dakayla (10/15/08)

I Love Amy MacKinnon!
Amy Mackinnon rules!!! This book is amazing and deep. Amy is smart,funny, and very caring person!This book is the best book ever written!!!! If I had a say what to read between a well experienced writer or Amy MacKinnon, I would choose this! Amy I can't wait for your next book!!!!
Jeanne (08/11/08)

Tethered
This book grabbed me from the very beginning. All of the characters were real, filled with their own unique hopes and flaws. Every part of Clara's life is written thoroughly and believably. It is the characters that stand out in this book, more than the mystery itself, right through to the satisfying ending.
Tanya (08/11/08)

Tethered
From the start of this book I was drawn in by Mackinnon's vivid language and her ability to make it easy to feel a part of Clara's world.... and then the disturbing undertow of the story, the crimes committed.... were not really what I expected of this novel. There were scenes in which I was easily brought to tears, and then moments when I felt hope with the direction the story was going. Mackinnon addresses real-life issues and hurts. This is not a happy, uplifting story, if that's the direction your book club is leaning towards. But an intriguing read, nonetheless, it has more softened curves and reminded me of Mystic River, by Dennis Lehane.
Patricia (08/11/08)

Tethered
One of the most amazing books I have ever read. Not a true mystery in the ordinary sense of the experience but a book I read from cover to cover in one sitting. The writing is so vivid and intense that it is difficult not to be emotionally moved by the story.

The story is a not the common theme where the mystery is inevitably solved and the bad guys receive their due. The setting is unusual while there is an intimacy with the main character explored in such extraordinary richness that like Clara, the reader must breathe (one-two-three).

Not for everyone but for those who wish to experience an amazing and extraordinary few hours.
E S (08/11/08)

Tethered Keeps Readers Roped In
Well paced mystery that keeps the reader page turning despite the creepiness of protagonist's career. The author does a great job of portraying main characters as persons damaged by their past who nevertheless work hard to act morally. The author is particularly adept at accurately portraying children and adult survivors of child abuse. She is also especially sensitive to the needs of these "victims" to become the hero of their own story by seeking the healing waters of forgiveness.

Whether or not Trecie is real or imagined, alive or ghost is the true mystery here--rather than "who-done-it". Amy Mackinnon does a good job of letting the reader in on the ambiguity early without revealing the answer until the end.

A good read, excellent choice for book club members as it would provide many areas for discussion: issues of child abuse and police/state reaction, necessary role of healing rather than removal as the answer, worthiness of "damaged" persons, existence of ghosts and persons who communicate with the dead.
Connie (08/11/08)

Tethered
Clara hides herself in her work as a mortician and is afraid to let people get too close to her, even to the point of hindering a child pornography investigation. Can Clara, who had an abusive and unloved beginning to life, allow herself to let go of that past and trust the man who wants to love and protect her? Only the reader can decide for him - or herself. So many unanswered questions that leave the reader to come to his/her own conclusions. Suspenseful at moments, but too many dry spots along the way.
Lynda (08/11/08)

Love, Beauty, Salvation from a very unlikely setting.
Ms. MacKinnon's narrator and main character, Clara, is most comfortable with the corpses that she lovingly prepares for burial. She has no friends, other than the undertaker with whom she works - and her flowers, which seem to blossom miraculously for Clara.

Being immersed in Clara's thoughts is learning how an extremely depressed and lonely young woman thinks. Yet, a glimmer of hope lies beneath the Gothic setting and compelled this reader to devour this mystery.

The characters are real and complete. The settings are vivid, though mostly seen through shadows and mist. The reader wants to help Clara solve this dark mystery and bloom as a fulfilled woman, like her garden.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.