Reader reviews and comments on An Incomplete Revenge, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Incomplete Revenge

A Maisie Dobbs Novel

By Jacqueline Winspear

An Incomplete Revenge
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Feb 2008,
    320 pages.
    Paperback: Nov 2008,
    352 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 18 reader reviews for An Incomplete Revenge
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sharon (03/30/09)

An Incomplete Revenge
The lush descriptive detailing of the English countryside provides an atmospheric backdrop for Maisie Dobbs’ investigation into the mysterious incidents taking place in the rural village of Heronsdene in the 1930’s.

A vivid portrayal of the tensions between the cultures of the hop-pickers, the gypsies and the townspeople is richly displayed through the use of dialect, history and landscapes.

Through her relationships with Maurice Blanche, her father and Simon, among others, Maisie Dobbs has developed into a fully dimensional main character whose sixth sense along with a highly methodical thought process help prepare her for the most difficult of situations.

The myriad of secondary characters tended to bog down the plot and I found myself losing interest well into the second half of the book. Certain developments towards the end somewhat re-engaged me in the story, unrealistic as they seemed.

Symbols such as the Michaelmas daisies and the importance of identity are interwoven throughout the story. But, it almost becomes more of a somber statement of culture clashes and lessons in death than a mystery.
Linda (03/03/08)

An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear
I really enjoyed this book. As an Anglophile, I recognized many of the geographical details. I thought her descriptions of the era were very good. The plot was believable and the suspense certainly held my interest. I would recommend it to anyone especially book clubs and readers of historical fiction. I plan to read her other Maisie Dobbs book very soon.
Karen (03/03/08)

An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear
I kept humming "Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves" as I read this very fun, light and satisfying mystery from the Maisie Dobbs series--for these are the suspect groups in murder and theft. In fact, I was reading three books at the same time and was always a bit sad that I had to pick up the other two. The author has won many awards for the second book in the Maisie Dobbs' series, "Birds of a Feather" and I enjoyed this one just as much.

A detective and psychologist in a post WW I era, Winspear gives us lots of insight into the sense of loss, confusion and fear after the Great War as she investigates this cozy English town of people. Without angst, the theme of letting go and holding on to a more naive time and its people, runs throughout the book for many of its characters without being the book's focus. The resemblence to our own post-9/11 fears, regrets and losses is part of its dignity. And figuring out "who done it" still felt like a great mini-adventure.

I'm a real bibliofile and reserve a "5" for a select few. I'm sure for many others this book would have been a "5."
Phyllis (03/03/08)

An Incomplete Revenge
World War I has been over for more than ten years, but its events still cause repercussions for Maisie Dobbs in An Incomplete Revenge, the fifth adventure of the unconventional investigator. Investigating suspicious property crimes, Maisie asks questions in the village of Herondene. Local gentry and villagers' secrets are revealed as she investigates. Readers learn more of Maisie's history and speculate about her future when some ties to her past are severed. A caring person, Maisie becomes involved with those she investigates. Another great adventure set in a time mostly forgotten, it also delves into social and economic ills of the time. Highly readable and well written.
Robert (03/03/08)

A Quiet, Compelling Mystery
This unusual detective series keeps getting better with each installment. Maisie Dobbs is an original creation; she’s thoughtful and deliberate, but not dull. The post-World War I setting adds intrigue and some emotional punch to the plot (which is also quite unusual). I found this an easy, engaging read. I recommend it for readers who don’t need a lot of overwrought action and manufactured suspense in their mysteries.
Marie (03/03/08)

A complete pleasure!
I happily anticipated reading Winspear’s latest in her Maisie Dobbs series, having read and enjoyed the previous books so very much. She recreates the pre/post World War I era in England superbly. I was not disappointed!

Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs makes her life’s journey with intelligence, grit and courage and commands respect from all who encounter her. She is a woman who has the audacity to become both a psychologist and an investigator at a time when women had few options. Winspear resolves her complex plots and character motivations very skillfully.

In our harried high-tech world, it is refreshing to recall a time when letters were eagerly awaited and phone calls were luxuries!
Shirley (03/03/08)

An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear
Maisie Dobbs is the most unusual Private Investigator I have ever met. Her analytical and unusual methods of solving a case make for the best kind of reading. She is kind, polite and very caring. She brings unusual people together with her warm personality. After reading her first book about Maisie, I was hooked. Her sensitive descriptions of her work as a nurse and the effects of war on returned soldiers and their families are so timely. This is the fourth in the series and just as absorbing. This entire series would be excellent for a book group.
Linda (03/03/08)

An Incomplete Revenge
Loyal readers will discover a more mature, confident and independent Maisie Dobbs in Jacqueline Winspeare's newest Maisie novel. Like Maisie herself, Winspeare's plotting and fully developed character comes of age. Using psychology, the author weaves the threads of the mystery together as Maisie resolves truths about herself. I enjoyed the book for its setting in the early 1930's and the location in Kent. Maisie Dobbs fans will be eager to read this new title in the series.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  The Roma People in Britain

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.