Reader reviews and comments on Into Thin Air, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Into Thin Air

A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster

By Jon Krakauer

Into Thin Air
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: May 1997,
    416 pages.
    Paperback: May 1998,
    378 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for Into Thin Air
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Brandon (10/19/11)

Horrible
This book is the worst book I have ever read in my whole entire life. It is so boring I couldn't focus, I read the same sentence about five times and still not understand what the author was trying to say. I didn't even finish the book because i was so bored.
john (03/27/10)

long....
Some parts of the book are good but the rest are like super boring. No offense to the writer, but is there any possible way to make the book more interesting to read?!
jeyaraman (10/22/09)

a must read
The way he introduces the members who were with him, the way he explains about high altitude mountaineering ... He takes you to the chilling top of me Everest. then when you lose the members one after another... you just cant control your emotions.

Highly gripping tragic tale.
Christine (04/28/09)

Amazing
This was by far the best book I have ever read. I could truly say its the first one I have read all the way through. I really enjoy all the information you give throughout the book. I will always remember this book and definitely recommend it to others.
A reader (02/19/08)

read Into thin Air three times, saw the movie once
I enjoyed this book because it was a true story, I enjoy nonfiction more than fiction. Jon writes as if I was right there on the mountain. He is an amazing writer with such an extensive vocabulary. His descriptions of his experience kept me spell bound. The reason I read the book in the first place is to help understand my new son-n-law better. He is a mountain guide and has been in many places in and outside the USA. By reading this book I felt I got inside his mind and understood his passion for climbing and all the danger around it. I am grateful for that. Jon seems that he did his very best in describing his experience on Mt. Everest. He was gracious, humble and knowledgeable. He is a fantastic author. He should not take anything personally, he did his best from all accounts and I am sorry that he feels such guilt. What a terrible thing to go through for all of them.
Keep writing, Jon. You are amazing!!!!

A Reader
mel (02/18/08)

unbelieveable
If you haven't read this book you cant even start to imagine how boring it is. Don't waste your time or torture yourself by reading this book. Just don't do it please.
Buhnay (08/17/07)

Phenominal.
I have done two school reports on this book. Jon Krakauer's writing style makes the reader feel as though he climbs the mountain along with the expedition, and the reader learns of Everest's horrific history. Though we all know Krakauer makes it down, I found suspense pulling me to the edge of my seat every step of the way.

I highly recommend this book to everyone- fiction and non-fiction fans alike.

My whole family has read the book more than once, as well.

Beautifully written, disturbingly descriptive, and suspenseful to the last page- Into Thin Air was fantastic.
MtnMan (07/08/07)

Out of Thin Air
I rated this book as average becasue it is an interesting read despite the underlying facts that have been skewed. Krakauer likes to portray himself in the best light while villainizing others that have been honored for their contributions during that tragic event in 96'. Krakauer who is quick to pass judgment on the decisions of others throughout this ordeal, places blame unjustly upon people that certainly didn't deserve it. He villainizes Anatoli Boukreev for his role, and is critical of his actions. While Krakauer was asleep in his tent, Anatoli was risking his life to rescue three other stranded climbers, who thanks to his efforts are alive today. Boukreev was acting out a pre-established plan to descend ahead of his clients in preparation for their descent, and because of this he was able to save lives. Anatoli's expertise in the mountains was far greater than that of Jon Krakauer, as he was regarded as the "Tiger Woods of the Himalaya." Krakauer bashes Boukreev during the years following the tragedy in his unrelenting quest to make Boukreev look like the bad guy, while making himself into the hero. I highly recommend reading into this situation, and you will soon discover that Krakauer's journalistic integrity is questionable at best!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...
  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin
  2.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh

All Discussions

Who Said...

A library is thought in cold storage.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.