Reader reviews and comments on Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim

By David Sedaris

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Jun 2004,
    272 pages.
    Paperback: May 2005,
    272 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 6 reader reviews for Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linn (12/15/06)

He puts the fun in dysfunction!
A brilliantly funny book that proves you can have a very unfunny childhood and still laugh about it ( after the fact!). His dry wit and turn of a phrase left me smiling. I felt like I knew him and his family. He puts the fun in dysfunction and came out a survivor!
Alex (08/16/05)

Hilarious
This book comes with many laughs. Although I never got the whole naked barbie doll for a cover. I remember I started this book in a waiting room. I guess its odd watching a 14 year old girl laughing out loud while reading a book with a naked barbie doll going on.
Absolutely Satisfied (05/25/05)

A Must-Read
After reading this book, it has flown to the top of my top favorites list. Hilarious, touching, and brutally honest, I found this to be a completely captivating compilation of well written stories.
Anonymous (02/26/05)

At my age, 14, this kind of humor is all I expect out of a book. My mom was listening to it in the car on the way to camp, and I didn't get what was so funny, but then three years later, I'm here, listening to it and I hardly have enough breath left to talk.
MG (01/17/05)

This is laugh-out-loud funny - a terrific read!
Rho (09/20/04)

I was expecting a lot of laughs from this book. Many people said it was very funny. I found it very sad, and felt sorry for him. The family life was not funny to me. It is a dysfunctional family, which I have found ALL families are. But to dump all your dirty stuff out; I just did not 'get' the humor. I would be very upset if it were my brother doing these about me. I must be too sensitve, but I am glad. I know his writing style is not for me, LOL. Our bookclub chose this one. I did finish it also, so give myself credit for that! :)

Rho 40yr old female
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Take This Man
    Take This Man
    by Brando Skyhorse
    "A chorus of six men calling me Son might sound ludicrous to you, but to me it's the sound of ...
  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.