Reader reviews and comments on Wolves of the Calla, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wolves of the Calla

The Dark Tower V

By Stephen King

Wolves of the Calla
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Nov 2003,
    736 pages.
    Paperback: Jan 2005,
    736 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 reader reviews for Wolves of the Calla
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

dave folds (01/11/05)

This book was amazing. I'm not sure that I understand some of the negative reviews on this page. The Dark Tower series seems to get better with every book. Each one gives you more insight on the characters personalities and the world/worlds they're traveling through. It is written a little differently. It is a different book. There is an ongoing storyline but each one has a plot within itself. I found that the one contained in Wolves of the Calla was awesome. Stephen King never fails to amaze me with his ability to come up with such mind-blowing ideas. I recommend this book to anyone who pursues the Dark Tower. And I recommend pursuing the Dark Tower to anyone who isn't.
Eric Volker (06/16/04)

I found the 5th installment of this series to be quite well-written. The fight scene at the end was very intense and i got to know the characters a little better in this one. I really can't wait until the last two are out. I'm already reading Dark Tower VI and i want more. It's pretty good so far. Keep on writing Stephen King!!!
Jason Fontaine (03/20/04)

I am a Steven King fan. Unfortunatly, I found this latest book in the DT series to be mediocre. I agree with most of the other reviewers on the fact that this episode is rather poorly written. It in no way reflects the previous works in the series. I am anxiously awaiting the final two in the series to see if he has remedied himself. "The Song of Susanah" should be out soon and I pray it is better. By the way, this book promted an otherwise Steven King only reader to persue entertainment from other authors. Steve, please fix this!!!
Anonymous (01/12/04)

I am sorry to say that this book, albeit one that has been long awaited with anticipation in the DT series, turned out to be a very disappointing read.

The main problem is the way the story seemed to drag on and on interminably without anything very interesting to sustain the reader's attention along the way.

The plot can be summed up as such - the recounting of the dilemma of the Calla in the begining, too much emphasis on the life of Callahan in the middle, some other subplots in New York which does not add to the interest stakes since everything turned out to be as expected, and the demise of the wolves at the end in probably less than 10 pages!

The vivid and cinematic plot twists and turns that accompany the earlier DT books are sadly missing. At the end, well..., one is left with the feeling that more could have been done to expand on the wolves exploits and how our heros could have dealt with them.
AV (01/02/04)

wow....simply wow. When you get near the end of the book, it will not leave your hands until it has been completed. Absolutely AMAZING!
Erin A (01/02/04)

I gave this book a 3, but sadly that's charitable. Once again, Stephen King has wrote himself into yet another book. Previously he had only placed himself in what he hoped was humoirous one-liners, but this is above and beyond. Having read all the books to this point, I still say the storyline was amazing. Okay, at least better than most of the pulp he's churned out in the last 15 years. Apparently he's undermining the story on purpose. All I can say to my fellow Dark Tower fans out there is STOP NOW. I highly suspect he's going to cheapen all the patient waiting we've done over the years.
Dude Lebowski (01/02/04)

After just having finished Wolves of the Calla but half an hour ago, I had to make my opinion known to the general public. I figure a review would do just that.

This book is in no way on par with any of Stephen King's previous Dark Tower novels. It is true that there is some very interesting character development, and some incredible twists, but for the most part, the book was VERY unsatisfying, and I believe mostly because....

STEPHEN KING WROTE HIMSELF INTO THE BOOK.

It is absolutely the height of ego, and has no use in the storyline whatsoever. I will give nothing away, but to say that I'm not sure how any reader could walk away without that nagging bit of disappointment in that particular turn of events.

All in all, I wish I had waited to check it out from the public library than to have purchased this hard cover edition.
Gilbert (12/31/03)

I cannot say enough about the majesty of the Dark Tower novels. King has bridged tremendous gulfs between genres as diverse as fantasy, horror, sci-fi, and western. Wolves of the Calla is a monument of his achievements surpassing all others in the yet-to-be-released series. The novel is a brilliant scope of King's many years of writing and brings together many unanswered questions in the series'. Truly a historical achievment in literature.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Arsonist
by Sue Miller

Published Jun. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  131Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.