Reader reviews and comments on Tuesdays With Morrie, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tuesdays With Morrie

An Old Man, A Young Man & The Last Great Lesson

By Mitch Albom

Tuesdays With Morrie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Sep 1997,
    192 pages.
    Paperback: Oct 2002,
    208 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 18
There are currently 143 reader reviews for Tuesdays With Morrie
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Christina Grace (08/22/13)

Tuesdays with Morrie
Best book I've ever read in my life. This book is very touching and funny. I guarantee you you'll love it.
A person (03/13/12)

So much hype...
There is so much going for this book. I read it for an English class and when finished I didn't get anything out of it.
You know the story. Self centered man gets un-self centered after a wise man talks to him about life. Except here the man is dying.
The writing quality is that of a young man, high school age. I can understand why he wants the 'simple' feeling to his writing, but it doesn't work.
Another thing that drove me crazy is that Morrie repeated the same thing over and over. "Love is all you need...""Love is the most important thing ever..." Everybody's probably heard that before. You don't need a dying man to tell you.
So, all in all, not life changing. It was a quick read, and I'm glad to be finished with it.
kua fydz_ fidel g. manangan (01/06/12)

"dealing with death"
The unfading freshness of this true story gives me a great power to face death fearless!

Thanks GOD for this magnificent book.
Minh Nguyen (06/07/11)

"Tuesdays with Morrie"
This book is the wonderful lessons from experience. While I read it, I couldn't stop crying for Morrie, the main character. The ALS( Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis) made Morrie couldn't do anything. However, through this disease, he could find himself, he could think far away. He knew what he really want to do. By reading this book, I had known a lot of things that I didn't think about before like we should forgive ourselves and others to make our lives better. If you want to find a good book to read and know, you shouldn't pass this one. The named of the amazing book is" Tuesdays with Morrie."
Clarissa (06/02/11)

Questionable..
Some that don't like the book are scared of its lesson, Death is everywhere and they are afriad of dying. This book has touched me and brought back my past. It made me cry but i'm not scared of the path i lead. I'm ready at any moment. And you that are scared of its lesson, you're more scared than a 17 year old. This is a heart felt book that will open your eyes to new things.
Stephan MIller (04/06/11)

Amazing Book
I’ve always wanted to read Tuesdays with Morrie but have never made the time to do so. I’m not much for reading though I have thoroughly enjoyed this book. I’ve heard it is quite a tear-jerker but, as I read it taught me many wonderful lessons and quite a few comical parts in it.

This book is about a time spent between a graduate and his teacher when the teacher becomes ill with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis or ALS. Before Mitch, the graduate, spends time with Morrie, he shares what has been happening in his life and how he has been caught up too much in his work. He finds out that Morrie is ill as he is watching TV one night and decides to go and visit his old friend. The book then leads into the 14 different Tuesdays spent with Morrie and the many different life lessons that Mitch learns. Morrie teaches about regret, emotions, family, forgiveness, death, marriage, money, fear of aging and many other topics.

I love this sentence from the book. “He was intent on proving that the word ‘dying’ was not synonymous with ‘useless.’” It really shows that Morrie was not afraid of death and wanted to live out the remainder of his life positively. He wants to be a great influence to all those around him. He is a very grateful, loving, and caring man. The book is amazing. The lessons you learn will be things that you can take with you throughout your life and apply them each day. I really liked the chapters on self-pity, money, and marriage. Morrie is a very intelligent man that has lots of wisdom and the way that he reasons things really gets you thinking. I don’t like to read books but this has been one I have really enjoyed.

Another quote that really applied to me was, "So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they're busy doing things they think are important. This is because they're chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning." I really feel the application in this is that we should all remember that we are children of our Heavenly Father. We have been commanded to love others, to be there as an influence in our community, and to develop our talents. This book in many ways is very Gospel oriented.

I didn’t really find anything that I disliked about this book. Like I said, it can be a tear-jerker, but the things that you will learn will greatly influence you. It’s great for Sunday reading. The lessons you learn are things that you can share with others throughout your life in helping other with their problems. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. You can never go wrong gaining more insight and wisdom on the issues we face daily.
joe (08/03/10)

horid
Everyone says that Tuesdays with Morrie is a fantastic read, but this is a grave overstatement. It was only 200 pages and it felt like forever reading it. I knew the book would suck when on the first page it had a list of lives changed from this book, and you could say I'm one of them - I will never read another book by Mitch Album. This book was predictable and preachy; needless to say THIS BOOK SUCKS.
Alyssa Hedding (07/21/10)

Life's Greatest Lesson
Mitch Albom, in his novel “Tuesdays with Morrie,” explores one man’s answers to many of the questions commonly asked throughout the journey of life.

Morrie Schwartz, Albom’s college professor, made a larger impact on Albom’s life than he ever knew – until Albom showed up in his drive-way one day towards the end of Schwartz’s life. “The last class of my old professor’s life had only one student,” Albom writes. “I was the student.”

When Albom discovered that his favorite college professor and long-time friend possessed a terminal illness, he began meeting with him on Tuesdays in his home, where Schwartz spoke with him and shared some of the vital life-lessons he learned throughout his remarkable, but fleeting journey. Mitch Albom promised Schwartz that he would record his last words in order to preserve the memory of this extraordinary man. This book is the fulfillment of that promise.

Albom ardently captures the bitter and the sweet in this recollection of a dying man’s most poignant joys and greatest regrets. While reading this book, the reader is inevitably thrown into a serious reevaluation of his or her priorities, because it emphasizes the fact that life truly is fleeting; at any moment it could be gone.

This book gave me a new perspective on a number of things, such as old age. For example, when Albom asked his professor if he was ever afraid to grow old, Schwartz answered that he had never been afraid of it; rather, he embraced aging. Speaking of unhappy people who constantly wish they were young again, Schwartz remarked, “You know what that reflects? Unsatisfied lives. Unfulfilled lives. Lives that haven’t found meaning. Because if you’ve found meaning in your life, you don’t want to go back. You want to go forward.” He explained that although he enjoyed being as young as Albom, he did not envy him. “How can I be envious of where you are – when I’ve been there myself?”

One part of the book that really impacted me was Schwartz telling Albom his most crucial life lesson. “The most important thing in life,” he whispered, “is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in…A wise man named Levine said it right. He said, ‘Love is the only rational act.’”

With moving quotes from the last days of Morrie Schwartz’s life and enlightening speculation from Mitch Albom, this book is a second chance for all of us to start truly appreciating each day before it ends. I would recommend “Tuesdays with Morrie” to anyone and everyone, because it redefines life in a way we all need to hear. This book has made me realize that life is not a race to finish as fast as we are able. Instead, it is a journey in which we are meant to experience joy, hard work, success, failure, pain, passion, relationships, heartache, true love, and someday – death. Simply stated, “Tuesdays with Morrie” is a story of, as its front cover displays, an old man, a young man, and life’s greatest lesson.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...
  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  167The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.