Read what people think about The Edge of the Earth by Christina Schwarz, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Edge of the Earth

By Christina Schwarz

The Edge of the Earth
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2013,
    288 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 8
There are currently 57 reader reviews for The Edge of the Earth
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Judy M. (East Haven, CT) (12/17/12)

The Edge of the Earth
I found this book to be an engaging story of life as it was planned to be verses life how it becomes to be.
The character of Trudy, born into a time where her expectations of life, through her families eyes, are to settle down with a nice/stable husband & raise a family. Trudy is well rounded, intelligent, and does not really question this path until Oskar comes along.
Oskar is of course intelligent, different, a dreamer of big things, and allows Trudy to believe there may be more to her existence than what had been doled out to her.
Since Oskar believes himself to be the inventor of new concepts that will make its mark in the world, and Trudy hs fallen in love with him and sees a new life for herself - the obvious happens, and they leave together to embark on what seems to be Oskars journey - Trudy still being in the more traditional role.
What I particularly liked about this book was both the fact that it takes place in a remote setting (this is my 2nd lighthouse book), and that you get the chance to watch Trudy grow independent of all her original beliefs, and eventually of her need to have a husband as her way to fulfillment.
An enjoyable read throughout, many twists to the story, and it all takes place in this most unlikely setting.
Rosemary K. (Saginaw, MI) (12/03/12)

a book indeed with an edge
Christina Schwarz's exquisite The Edge of the Earth relates the story of Trudy Swann, who travels to a remote California lighthouse in the very late 1800's. As Trudy assists her not-particularly-likable husband Oskar with the operation of the lighthouse, she also begins teaching the local (rather incorrigible) children.

The plot includes a grim mystery: the tangled tale has some elements of fantasy. The author's skillful storytelling keeps the reader enthralled. I read slowly, savoring.

A particular bonus of this book is its wondrous descriptions of sea animals and plants that Trudy finds as she explores the terrain of her new surroundings. (This puts me in mind of Tracy Chevalier's Remarkable Creatures, a book I also treasure.)

The Edge of the Earth is unique and gripping; I highly recommend it.
WDH (New Port Richey, FL) (11/27/12)

What Was She Thinking?
Throughout most of the book I kept asking myself what was Trudy thinking when she chose to marry Oskar? A 'love is blind' situation with a bit of parental/societal defiance thrown in and she is launched into a life she is not prepared for with an unreliable and almost untrustworthy partner. However, Trudy manages to take her circumstances and turn them into something almost grand as she becomes aware of the flora and fauna in her remote surroundings on the California coast. She starts a business, gains independence and finds a place in the world that connects her to who she was before meeting Oskar. Overall I enjoyed the book, but did feel it was a bit disjointed.
Angela J. (Highlands Ranch, CO) (11/20/12)

The Edge of the Earth
I loved her previous novel "Drowning Ruth", I was expecting something along those lines. Unfortunately, it wasn't. At times, it was like reading a textbook on marine life. The book was plodding, and the characters weren't well developed.
Barbara L. (Mill Valley, CA) (11/19/12)

The Edge of the Earth
"Like countless others before us, we believed that we alone understood the dictates of love." This quote from "The Edge of the Earth" describes beautifully young Trudy and Oskar Swann as they travel to their new married life at a remote lighthouse off the coast of California, eager to escape the restrictions of a complacent life in Milwaukee. i think the readers will relate to their early romantic illusions as to what life will be like when they are free to live without conventions, while knowingly understanding that young love is sometimes not all that is needed to survive and endure. The secrets revealed slowly over the pages keeps one enthralled and dying to know what is really going on on that lonely island.
Deborah M. (Chambersburug, PA) (11/17/12)

Very Disappointing
I remembered liking Schwarz's Drowning Ruth when I read it years ago, so I was looking forward to The Edge of the Earth. Sadly, I was greatly disappointed. Perhaps it's that my reading tastes have changed . . . but I really just don't think this is a very good book. The characters are stereotypes and the plot is predictable; the writing itself is rather pedestrian. Frankly, I had to really push myself to plod through it.

The novel begins and ends in the present day. An elderly woman, who apparently lived in the now-famous St. Lucia lighthouse years ago, comes to visit with her grandson. As the tourists travel up the path, she prides herself on how much more she knows than their guide, and she launches into the central story. It's 1898, and young Trudy Swann travels with her new husband, Oskar, from Milwaukee to the California coast, where he has taken a job as assistant to the lighthouse keeper. Trudy is suitably naive and, of course, has a talent for science--particularly marine life identification and drawing--that no one has appreciated. As for Oskar, what is meant to be a rebellious nature comes off rather as petulant and spoiled. The family who lives at the lighthouse is, of course, made up of cranky oddballs, but, of course, their crankiness is only there to cover deep, dark family secrets--secrets that really aren't all that surprising. The Crawleys have a hoard of children who are a bit wild but sweet and eager to learn. But they know things that Trudy does not, and they have a collection of strange 'gifts' left to them by 'the mermaid.'

I won't go into this any further and spoil (if possible) the 'discoveries' for other readers. At this point, I became very irritated with the book--not just because what happens is so irritating (it is), but because it was so predictable and so obviously aimed at tugging at the reader's emotions and making a 'big statement'. (Can you feel the hammer?)

Another reviewer mentioned that those who enjoy Oprah selections would probably like this book. I'm not one to automatically pan anything Oprah recommends, as some do; in fact, I've enjoyed many of her selections, including Drowning Ruth. But not The Edge of the Earth.

I might have rated the book a little higher, but I was really irritated that so many better books were waiting while I struggled to finish it.
Chris W. (Temple City, CA) (11/17/12)

Edge of the Earth
This novel was engrossing, informative, and somewhat mysterious. I enjoyed learning about the life of a lighthouse guardian, and the descriptions of the lifestyle at that time and the surrounding scenery were well written. The characters were intriguing and fairly well developed, especially Trudy. There are several aspects of this story appropriate for a book club discussion. I appreciated the slow pace and the haunting tale.
Julia A. (New York, NY) (11/10/12)

Engrossing and informative
I was a little hesitant to request yet another "lighthouse" book, having reviewed "The Woman at the Light" fairly recently; however, I'm glad I did. "The Edge of the Earth" is an engrossing tale, so that one almost doesn't notice the education that is provided about marine flora and fauna. The female characters: Trudy, Mrs. Crawley, young Jane, and the mysterious "Helen" are well drawn and memorable. The males, on the other hand, are weak, devious, or just plain unappealing. I don't know that Christina Schwarz deliberately set out to create a feminist novel, but the book can certainly be taken that way. The story starts and ends in 1977 with the now elderly Jane, but the bulk of it is set around 1898 and is really Trudy's, and to a lesser extent, Helen's. The remote outpost of Port Lucia, California serves as the isolated setting that brings out the best and the worst in the inhabitants who tend the lighthouse. I found myself drawn into the story and hope that other readers will too.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...
  • Book Jacket: Complicit
    Complicit
    by Stephanie Kuehn
    When seventeen year-old Jamie Henry receives word that his older sister Cate, is being released from...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  30Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Who Said...

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O O T F P, Into T F

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.