The BookBrowse Review

Got a question? Click here!

The BookBrowse Review

Published May 21, 2014

ISSN: 1930-0018

printable version
You are viewing a sample edition of The BookBrowse Review for members. To learn more about membership, click here.
Back    Next

Contents

In This Edition of
The BookBrowse Review

Highlighting indicates debut books

Editor's Introduction
Reviews
Hardcovers Paperbacks
First Impressions
Recommended for Book Clubs
Publishing Soon

Novels


Historical Fiction


Short Stories/Essays


Mysteries


Thrillers


Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Alternate History


Biographies/Memoirs


History, Science & Current Affairs


Young Adults

Novels


Romance


Extras
  • Blog:
    Give Your Old Books A New Lease on Life
  • Notable:
    @RailBookClub
  • Wordplay:
    O H Die H
  • Quote:
    A library is thought in cold storage
Book Jacket

Take This Man
A Memoir
by Brando Skyhorse
3 Jun 2014
256 pages
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN-13: 9781439170878
Critics:
mail to a friend   

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of "Brando Skyhorse," the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his "indelible storytelling" (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic.

"Starred Review. By turns darkly comical and moving, this powerful memoir of a family in flux will stick with readers well after they've put it down." - Publishers Weekly

"Starred Review. By turns funny and wrenching, the narrative is an unforgettable tour de force of memory, love and imagination." - Kirkus

"There is not much in this hard-luck story to grab on to or connect with, except that it is a wonder that Skyhorse survived. What did come of his life within this dysfunctional family is a love and appreciation for storytelling; though, like his mother, his fiction seems to have more appeal." - Library Journal

"Take This Man is as astonishing a memoir as I've ever read. Brando Skyhorse's beautifully-told tale of his truly bizarre childhood and his search for a father moved me in a way that few books have... I guarantee that this is a family story unlike any you've read before. It deserves to become a classic." - Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Your Life Book Club

"Take This Man reaches beyond the bounds of my imagination. We use the word 'survivor' with disgracefully casual ease. But this writer truly survived being held hostage, raised by wolves... when he escaped he knew how to tell a story, and this is one hell of story." - Geoffrey Wolff, author of The Duke of Deception

"Take This Man is a funny and harrowing and touching portrait of the abyss in families between what we know we should do and how our hearts lead us to behave." - Jim Shepard, author of Like You'd Understand, Anyway and You Think That's Bad

"Brando Skyhorse's unputdownable Take This Man is one of the most moving and mesmerizing memoirs I've ever read. I'm still reeling... This is a miraculous memoir from a spectacularly talented writer. - Susannah Cahalan, New York Times bestselling author of Brain on Fire

"This gorgeous, wrenching, ultimately uplifting book is a testament to the large and generous heart of its author. Brando Skyhorse has made art out of the chaos of his own extraordinary family history, and, in so doing, has raised the bar, not only for memoirists, but for us all." - Dani Shapiro, bestselling author of Still Writing

"A beautiful, compassionate, but also hilarious and hair-raising tale of one boy's life, the lies and truths his mother told, and the damage and the magic she created. Brando Skyhorse is an irresistible writer with an incredible story." - Jeannette Walls, author of The Glass Castle

"Take This Man is a grand story full of fantastic characters - characters whom the author brings vividly to life because they ARE his life. Skyhorses's shifting identity creates an intense quest for meaning, a kind of whodunit memoir that explores the sometimes hilarious, sometimes heartbreaking, often absurd, and always fascinating childhood that the author." - Kim Barnes, author of In the Kingdom of Men

Brando Skyhorse's debut novel, The Madonnas of Echo Park, received the 2011 PEN/Hemingway Award and the Sue Kaufman Award for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The book was also a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick. He has been awarded fellowships at Ucross and Can Serrat, Spain. Skyhorse is a graduate of Stanford University and the MFA Writers' Workshop program at UC Irvine. He is the 2014 Jenny McKean Moore Writer-In-Washington at George Washington University.

The books listed in this section will all publish within a week or two. Click here to browse notable books publishing further in the future (also available under the "What's New" menu tab).

For booksellers and librarians, we recommend our one-page summary of books publishing the following month.

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.