Results for Mysteries & Thrillers + Mysteries + 17th Century or Earlier

Select your view:
Order books by:
  • The Midwife's Tale
    Sam Thomas
    Paperback: 12/10/2013
     
    In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife...
  • The Malice of Fortune
    Michael Ennis
    Paperback: 06/04/2013
     
    Against a teeming canvas of Borgia politics, Niccolò Machiavelli and Leonardo da Vinci come together to ...
  • The Beggar King : A Hangman's Daughter Tale
    Oliver Potzsch
    Paperback: 01/08/2013
     
    Chock-full of fascinating historical detail, The Beggar King brings to vibrant life another tremendous tale of...
  • Juliet
    Anne Fortier
    Paperback: 07/26/2011
     
    Juliet, an ambitious, utterly engaging historical novel on the scale of The Thirteenth Tale and The Birth of ...
  • The Killing Way
    Tony Hays
    Paperback: 03/02/2010
     
    When a young woman is brutally murdered and the blame is placed at Merlin’s feet, Arthur’s ...
  • The Serpent's Tale
    Ariana Franklin
    Paperback: 02/03/2009
     
    Ariana Franklin combines the best of modern forensic thrillers with the drama of historical fiction in her ...
  • The Savage Garden
    Mark Mills
    Paperback: 05/06/2008
     
    The story of two murders, four hundred years apart - and the ties that bind them together.

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 11

Page 1 of 2
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Theme
Filter by Setting

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.