Results for General Fiction + Historical Fiction + Strong Female Leads, set in USA

Select your view:
Order books by:
  • The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street
    Susan J. Gilman
    Hardcover: 06/10/2014
     
    In 1913, little Malka Treynovsky flees Russia with her family. Bedazzled by tales of gold and movie stardom, ...
  • What Is Visible
    Kimberly Elkins
    Hardcover: 06/03/2014
     
    A vividly original literary novel based on the astounding true-life story of Laura Bridgman, the first deaf ...
  • China Dolls
    Lisa See
    Hardcover: 06/03/2014
     
    Lisa See has garnered international acclaim for her great skill at rendering the intricate relationships of ...
  • Dissident Gardens : A Novel
    Jonathan Lethem
    Paperback: 06/03/2014
     
    A dazzling novel from one of our finest writers—an epic yet intimate family saga about three generations ...
  • The Promise
    Ann Weisgarber
    Hardcover: 04/01/2014
     
    From the author of The Personal History of Rachel Dupree, shortlisted for the Orange Award for New Writers and...
  • The Other Typist : A Novel
    Suzanne Rindell
    Paperback: 04/01/2014
     
    For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators ...
  • Fever
    Mary Beth Keane
    Paperback: 03/18/2014
     
    A bold, mesmerizing novel about the woman known as "Typhoid Mary," the first known healthy carrier of typhoid ...

Full results are for members only - but you can cross-reference more than one theme by using the buttons in the right column. Explore the many benefits of membership here.

The reviewer of each book decides which categories it belongs in - but we're only human, mistakes happen. If you see a book that you think is in the wrong place, tell us!

Total books found: 41

Page 1 of 6
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Filter by Time Period

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.