Reed Arvin biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Reed Arvin

Reed Arvin

Reed Arvin Biography

Reed Arvin grew up on a working cattle ranch in Kansas. He studied music in college, became a successful session musician and record producer, and toured the world with a variety of artists. He now writes full time. His first novel The Wind in the Wheat was published in 1994. He is the author of two critically acclaimed thrillers, The Last Goodbye and Blood of Angels. He and his wife Dianne, a painter, split their time between homes in Nashville, TN, and St. Petersburg, FL

Reed Arvin's website

This bio was last updated on 01/16/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Reed Arvin discusses how his writing was honed by experiencing divorce, cancer and a change of career, all in three months - and how he learned to handle crises from his mother, the first blind woman judge in American history.

You were a musician for quite some time, yes?
I made my living as a studio musician and record producer for nearly twenty years before I started writing. I played with Amy Grant for several years, and had a chance to see the world touring with her and other artists.
My musical voyages have taken me to some very strange places. I was once in a reggae band in which the drummer's name -- I mean the one on his driver's license, not his nickname -- was Turnip Greens. First name Turnip, last name Greens. I've been in salsa bands, and I once played in a Latin band in the garage of a Ford dealership in Guadalajara. Another time, I played for some drug dealers in Colombia. I didn't know they were drug dealers until afterwards, when they tried to pay the band with cocaine. Believe me, the music business was everything I had heard about and more. Eventually I became a producer, which at least meant I got to stay home for a change. Academically, I have two degrees in music.

Do you feel that background helped with your new career as a novelist?
For me, studying music was actually better preparation for writing than studying writing. Some things you have to learn by coming at ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Reed Arvin at BookBrowse
Blood of Angels jacket The Last Goodbye jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Reed Arvin but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jodi Compton

    Jodi Compton

    Jodi Compton grew up in northern California and graduated from UC Berkeley. Three years in Minnesota for graduate studies in journalism inspired her Minneapolis detective, Sarah Pribek. She returned to California for her ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Last Goodbye

    Try:
    The 37th Hour
    by Jodi Compton

  • Sue Grafton

    Sue Grafton

    Sue Grafton entered the mystery field in 1982 with the publication of 'A' Is for Alibi, which introduced female hard-boiled private investigator, Kinsey Millhone, operating out of the fictional town of Santa Teresa, (aka ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Last Goodbye

    Try:
    P Is For Peril
    by Sue Grafton

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Heaven, My Home
    by Attica Locke
    Attica Locke's 2017 novel Bluebird, Bluebird introduced us to Texas Ranger Darren Mathews, who ...
  • Book Jacket: Transcendent Kingdom
    Transcendent Kingdom
    by Yaa Gyasi
    Yaa Gyasi's (pronounced "yah jessie") Transcendent Kingdom is, among other things, a meditation on ...
  • Book Jacket: We Are Not Free
    We Are Not Free
    by Traci Chee
    Author Traci Chee is best known for her young adult fantasy trilogy, The Reader series. We Are Not ...
  • Book Jacket: The Standardization of Demoralization Procedures
    The Standardization of Demoralization Procedures
    by Jennifer Hofmann
    The title of Jennifer Hofmann's perceptive debut novel with its bureaucratese strongly suggests a ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke

    A new novel from the NY Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Shadow King
by Maaza Mengiste

An unforgettable epic shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive
by Natasha Trethewey

The moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of tragedy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L N Take I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.