Frederick Libby biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Frederick Libby

Frederick Libby

How to pronounce Frederick Libby: fred-ric libby

Frederick Libby Biography

Frederick Libby was born in Sterling, Colorado and died in Los Angeles, California in 1970 leaving behind his memoir which was published in August, 2000 as Horses Don't Fly.

Born and raised on a ranch in Sterling he learned horse breaking, cattle driving and had many humorous adventures as a child. In his 20's he ventured into France with the Canadian Army and eventually fought in the air battle over the Western Front. When he returned to the U.S. after WWI he became an oil wildcatter and later founded a Cargo Airline which later became Western Airlines.

In the 1960's historian friends encouraged him to write his memoirs. Thus, Horses Don't Fly. He also wrote many short stories and a screenplay which are yet unpublished.



This bio was last updated on 06/14/2011. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Frederick Libby at BookBrowse
Horses Don't Fly jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Frederick Libby but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Author Image Not Available

    Greg King

    Greg King was born in 1964. he first became interested in history at the age of twelve, after watching two films about Imperial Russia's last royal family, the Romanovs, after which he started reading all the books he could ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Horses Don't Fly

    Try:
    Lusitania
    by Greg King

  • Edward Beauclerk Maurice

    Edward Beauclerk Maurice

    Edward Beauclerk Maurice, who was born in 1913, traveled to the Arctic at the age of sixteen, where he worked at a number of trading posts on behalf of the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1935 he left Baffin Island, returning to... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Horses Don't Fly

    Try:
    The Last Gentleman Adventurer
    by Edward Beauclerk Maurice

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: All the Devils Are Here
    All the Devils Are Here
    by Louise Penny
    In Louise Penny's All the Devils Are Here, the 16th book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: A Girl is A Body of Water
    A Girl is A Body of Water
    by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
    First Impressions readers were fascinated by A Girl Is a Body of Water, a riveting and nuanced novel...
  • Book Jacket
    Heaven, My Home
    by Attica Locke
    Attica Locke's 2017 novel Bluebird, Bluebird introduced us to Texas Ranger Darren Mathews, who ...
  • Book Jacket: Transcendent Kingdom
    Transcendent Kingdom
    by Yaa Gyasi
    Yaa Gyasi's (pronounced "yah jessie") Transcendent Kingdom is, among other things, a meditation on ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke

    A new novel from the NY Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Shadow King
by Maaza Mengiste

An unforgettable epic shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive
by Natasha Trethewey

The moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of tragedy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L N Take I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.